Movie Review: Prisoners

Prisoners (2013)

prisoners

153 min  -  Crime | Drama | Thriller  -  20 September 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 8.1/10 from 40,295 users   Metascore: 74/100
Reviews: 217 user | 283 critic | 46 from Metacritic.com

When Keller Dover’s daughter and her friend go missing, he takes matters into his own hands as the police pursue multiple leads and the pressure mounts. But just how far will this desperate father go to protect his family?

Director:

Denis Villeneuve

Writer:

Aaron Guzikowski

Stars:

Hugh Jackman, Jake Gyllenhaal, Viola Davis | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

I know I’m behind the movie scene, I did see this about 2 weeks ago but I’m only just getting a chance to review it. So as per usual I wanted to see his movie based on reviews I’d heard and the fact that Hugh Jackman was in it. Ever since he started playing Wolverine I’m ready and willing to see most any movie he does. Jake Gyllenhaal has also done some stellar performance so we decided to see this movie and use up our passes from Gravity (I complained after that one due to noisy assholes around us).

Main Points:

As always no story summary, I’ll just say it has some great twists and turns and plenty of suspense. Jackman is fantastic here, he goes through a wide range of emotions and brings up important moral questions. Some of these questions are ones I’m unable to answer as I don’t have children but that detracted little from my enjoyment of the film.

There are some wonderfully intense moments and the mystery of what exactly happened to the two little girls is suspenseful with some great twists and turns.

Gyllenhaal is a driven police detective who is determined to solve this particular kidnapping case. Well I guess to say any more means…

SPOILER ALERT!

So in the end the two little girls are found (alive thankfully) and Detective Loki (Gyllenhaal) catches the woman responsible. The kicker is that when Keller (Jackman) figures out where his little girl is being held captive, he in turn is made a prisoner himself. He is lucky as he finds a whistle at the bottom of the hole he’s in and blows on in continually for help.

Final Thoughts:

Obviously this movie is not for children and would (I suspect) be hard for some parents to watch. With that said I loved it, certainly the best movie Jackman has done (that I’ve seen at least) with a great story and a nice supporting cast. There is one important scene that I think should have played out differently and the ending is a little too uncertain for me. Overall though I give this a strong 8/10 and a big recommendation.

Until next time (which you’ll have to wait and see what) I am as, always..

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment