Interview with Rachael Horsma

Hi all,

Soon I’ll put up my thoughts (and some pictures) from Hal-Con but for now here’s my interview with a young author named Rachael Horsma. She was nice enough to contact me and follow me on Twitter, so I’m more than happy to showcase her and her book Soul Seed today. Enjoy!

734041_10151363644312479_1376934775_n

1. What’s your name (pen if you prefer) and what are you here to promote?

My name is Rachael Horsma and I am here to promote my new book, Soul Seed.

2. Is this your first book or have you been writing for a while?

Soul Seed is my first book.

3. Is this book part of a series?

Yes, Soul Seed is the first book in a series of four books.

4. Tell me a little about the book, what genre, short summary, that kind of thing, also what age group is it meant for?

Soul Seed is a YA Fantasy.

Landra had long since given up playing mage, a magick user. When she hears a voice in her head telling her to save the Prince, she thinks she’s crazed. Never had she considered that she may actually have magick. This will be the start of an adventure that will change her life and a world she’s never known.

Print

5. How about a little bit about you? (or a lot if you prefer) What makes you tick? What turn’s you on? 😉

I’m an author and designer from northern Minnesota. I spend most of my time on campus in the computer labs, which is where the bulk of my novel was written. I’m very attracted to intelligence (I’m a Ravenclaw!) and I’m a fairly organized person.

6. What is the trait you value most in others?

Honesty, I don’t understand why people lie so often. It hurt worse when you find out you were lied to. I sort of developed a thick skin, my motto is, “If you don’t have time for me, I don’t have time for you.”

7. If you could have two superpowers what would they be and why?

Teleportation for sure, travelling would be so cheap and I could sleep in longer before class. Not sure what to call this, but I would love it if I could just touch a book and absorb knowledge. It would make college so easy.

8. Marvel or DC?

Sailor Moon?

Follow-up: Guess I show my age a little with that question. I loved comics so much growing up, hell I still do, I just don’t have the time or money to buy as many as I used to. I have heard of Sailor Moon (I’ve sure seen a lot of costumes at cons) but I can’t say I ever watched it.

9. Favourite TV show?

Law and Order: SVU

Follow-up: An excellent show that I used to watch all the time. Christopher Meloni was fun to watch in other stuff like True Blood, Oz and regular Law and Order.

10. Have you always been interested in writing?

For the most part, once I actually started reading I loved it. Before that I was a storyteller, by now it’s just second nature.

11. What do you think is the best part about being a writer?

To make anything a reality, the world is so wide and our imagination makes it greater each day.

12. What’s the worst part of writing?

Editing… You can’t see the sour face I’m making now. I edited this novel a good fifteen times, I probably could recite it to you in my sleep.

Follow-up: I hear you, I did 16 drafts of my first book and really there could have been a 17th. It’s a cross virtually all writers have to bear.

13. Do you think the future is in Ebooks? Or will print make a comeback?

I think both has a place to stay, there are some things that electronic is never going to be able to accommodate.

14. Do you like your job?

You mean being a student? Sure. The thing is I straddle both the writing world and the design world and I don’t think I could quit either.

15. If you could have a different career/job what would it be?

Queen, haha no. Honestly, how about Power Ranger?

16. What are you reading right now?

Tamora Pierce’s “Battle Mage”

17. What was the last movie you saw?

The Croods

18. What was the last book you really loved?

Graceling by Kristin Cashore

19. Have you ever met someone you only talked to online before?

No

20. Do you go to Sci-Fi/Fantasy or any other kinds of conventions?

I have not, yet.

21. Do you ever read comic books/graphic novels?

Yes.

22. How do you feel about promotion? Any tips for other writers?

I think it’s a necessary part of the writer business. Start building your writer’s platform now!

23. Favourite author?

It’s a triple tie between J. K. Rowling, Tamora Pierce, and Jane Austen.

24. Favourite person (living or dead)?

My family

25. Would you consider yourself religious?

Very religious

26. What do you think is the biggest problem in the world today?

Miscommunication and the unwillingness to take a look at another person’s point of view.

27. If you had all the money you ever wanted, what would you do?

Write, travel, set my family up for life, go skydiving, live somewhere where I could learn to surf.

28. What’s the secret to happiness?

To not worry about what others think.

Thanks for taking the time to talk with me, best of luck with your book and hey I’m a writer too. E-mail me anytime if you want to chat TheNLVampire@gmail.com thanks again!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

