Movie Review: St. Vincent

StVincent

Details from IMDB:

St. Vincent (2014)

102 min  -  Comedy | Drama  -  24 October 2014 (USA)

Ratings: 7.4/10 from 11,625 users   Metascore: 64/100
Reviews: 79 user | 139 critic | 39 from Metacritic.com

A young boy whose parents have just divorced finds an unlikely friend and mentor in the misanthropic, bawdy, hedonistic war veteran who lives next door.

Director:

Theodore Melfi

Writer:

Theodore Melfi (screenplay)

Stars:

Bill Murray, Melissa McCarthy, Naomi Watts | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

Ahh Bill Murry, he’s been someone I’ve enjoyed from way back when I first saw Ghostbusters (first one is a classic, don’t bother with the second). He’s had some other great roles too (and some crappy ones) but I’ve found that for the most part he winds up in good movies. I had heard good things about St. Vincent and with it on Netflix (in France that is, I used Unlocator which I’d recommend) I decided to watch it.

Main Points:

I like Naomi Watts as well and while I’ve never been a big fan of Melissa McCarthy, I have to give her credit for a fine performance here. Really though, this is Bill Murray’s movie and he truly shines. His character, at first glance, is a miserable, penniless and we assume lazy and dirty. The wonderful part about this movie is how well Murry takes on the role, you grow to love Vince as the layers are slowly peeled back and you see what he is really like, you see what he’s been through.

The movie is a great take on reality (I’ll admit not so much as I know but what I’m sure rings true for many people), the feeling that you just can’t win, that life (and people) are only out to screw you and you have to take whatever you can get just to make it. As the movie progresses he begins to have a friendship with the young boy next door (whom he is often paid to babysit) and you find yourself liking the kid and rooting for these two to win.

I don’t want to give the whole plot away, there are some interesting (and sad) twists that really put Vincent and some other characters to the test. It’s a movie about the seeing the good in a person and having the courage to not give up on someone. It’s a movie about sacrifice, love and the meaning of life and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Final Thoughts:

Bill Murray could win an Oscar for this role, he is just amazing. There is one particular part near the end that I found very emotional and touching. I strongly recommend this movie (though as usual not for small children). It’s a damn great movie and I give it 9/10. If you have Netflix (France) or it’s still in theater you should really check it out. Until next time (will be my thoughts on another movie I just saw today).

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

