Movie Review: Horrible Bosses 2

HorribleBosses2

Details from IMDB:

 

Horrible Bosses 2 (2014)

108 min  -  Comedy  -  26 November 2014 (USA)

Ratings: 7.1/10 from 8,930 users   Metascore: 40/100
Reviews: 51 user | 119 critic | 36 from Metacritic.com

Dale, Kurt and Nick decide to start their own business but things don’t go as planned because of a slick investor, prompting the trio to pull off a harebrained and misguided kidnapping scheme.

Director:

Sean Anders

Writers:

Sean Anders (screenplay), John Morris (screenplay), 5 more credits »

Stars:

Jason Bateman, Jason Sudeikis, Charlie Day | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

Ah the sequel, it can be a good thing but it’s often fraught with peril. I found the first Horrible Bosses very funny (I’ve seen it several times) and this made me want to see the sequel. I have a regular movie critic I read and I check IMDB (usually a movie has to get at least a 7 for me to see it), all signs looked good so we went.

Main Points:

This movie starts off a little different (the guys have no horrible bosses, as they run their own business) but soon gets into familiar terrain of them trying to plan a big crime but fail terribly. I’ll admit there were some good performances (just not by any of the main actors) and Jennifer Aniston plays the super-sexual Julia perfectly (this time with more dirty talk), Jamie Foxx is excellent as Motherf**ker Jones and Kevin Spacey plays the lunatic boss behind bars well.

The most serious problem was the movie gets so predictable and the laughs dry up after the first 45 minutes. Having the characters (well two of them) continue to act so stupid and screw everything up just didn’t do it for me this time. Getting bored during a 108 minute movie is a serious problem. There are a few times I laughed (Chris Pine and Chistoph Waltz are funny at times) but just not enough.

Final Thoughts:

Due to the strength of the other performers and a few parts I laughed out loud I’ll give it a weak 6/10. Unless you’re a huge fan of the minor actors I mentioned and/or are desperate to see what happens next, I’d really can’t recommend this, save your money and see "Interstellar" (review coming soon) or see the last "Hobbit". If you do go please don’t bring children, as this is obviously an adult movie. Until next time! (when I review a much better movie)

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • My Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • DC Street Team