Movie Review: Doc of the Dead

Doc of the Dead (2014)

DocofTheDead

81 min  -  Documentary  -  14 June 2014 (USA)

Ratings: 6.6/10 from 477 users
Reviews: 4 user | 31 critic

The definitive zombie culture documentary, brought to the screen by the makers of THE PEOPLE vs. GEORGE LUCAS.

Director:

Alexandre O. Philippe

Writers:

Chad Herschberger, Alexandre O. Philippe

Stars:

Charlie Adlard, Joanna Angel, Steven Barton | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

This is a movie I watched on a plane on my way to Las Vegas, it was short and I do love horror movies, so I gave it a try. While I didn’t do a Halloween post this year I decided today was an appropriate day to put this up, so Happy Halloween everyone! Try to get a good scare, or at least a good treat somewhere.

Main Points:

This movie goes through why zombie movies have become such a huge hit and interviews many of the stars/directors/writers currently involved with it. I thought the interviews were excellent (some were quite funny) and I got to learn a few things about Robert Kirkman and George Romero that I didn’t know before. I found it funny that Kirkman almost seems to be disappointed that the Walking Dead TV show has done so well, I hope he was just kidding! Also I had no idea that Romero actually did a movie with a zombie who was the hero of the film! I thought this a very original idea.

The movie also shows conventions, a massive zombie walk (which was pretty cool) and of course obsessed fans who take their love of zombies a little too seriously. I also enjoyed how Max Brooks points out how mainly people in society have become so obsessed with their phones/tablets that they almost behave like zombies anyway! It was both funny and sad as I’ve met people who could not carry on a conversation for more than a few minutes without looking down at their phone.

Aside from this their are some disturbing/super gory clips which I didn’t enjoy. One in particular Re-Animator features a very disturbing scene where a disembodied living head is held by the body and performs oral sex on a woman. Thankfully they don’t show the whole clip during this film but it’s enough to still freak the average viewer out (including me!).

Final Thoughts:

I have to mention another clip from Dawn of the Dead, it literally shows a man lower half being ripped off and torn apart, very gory and stomach turning. While the movie itself is a classic (can’t say I ever saw it though) if this is the level of gore in it, I don’t think I could ever watch it. Overall I enjoyed this documentary but due to extreme gore, I would give it 7/10 and  a very careful recommendation. This should only be seen by ages 18+ and then only those with a good tolerance for gore.  Oh in case you’re wondering we have two trick-or-treaters (my niece and nephew) so while that’s a little disappointing, it does leave lots of leftover candy! Have a good one all, until next time which will be pictures and my thoughts on our three part trip in October.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

