Movie Review: Gone Girl

Details from IMDB:

GoneGirl

Gone Girl (2014)

149 min  -  Drama | Mystery | Thriller  -  3 October 2014 (USA)

Ratings: 8.5/10 from 91,141 users   Metascore: 79/100

Reviews: 387 user | 354 critic | 49 from Metacritic.com

With his wife’s disappearance having become the focus of an intense media circus, a man sees the spotlight turned on him when it’s suspected that he may not be innocent.

Director:

David Fincher

Writers:

Gillian Flynn (screenplay), Gillian Flynn (novel)

Stars:

Ben Affleck, Rosamund Pike, Neil Patrick Harris | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

First off, I know it’s been a while. I was on vacation and didn’t have a chance to do a post, another one will be coming this week and then finally a vacation report (had a great time, just super expensive!) anyway on with the review. So I’m a fan of Ben Affleck and I heard lots of great things about this movie, so we went.

Main Points:

This is a kind of a hard movie to review and not because there’s anything wrong with it, just that I don’t want to spoil anything. Excellent acting (including a surprising good performance by Neil Patrick Harris in a minor role), great story and some great surprises. For a longer movie (almost 2.5 hours) I never found it dragged, I was always ready for whatever came next.

I haven’t read the book but Gillian Flynn is obvious a clever writer, I liked a lot of the meta stuff (both of the main characters are writers, there is an important journal and it shows the importance of research and other geeky writer stuff). This movie also really makes you think, how well can you truly know a person? What lengths would you go to for revenge? How would you act in a very stressful (and strange) situation? The movie provides some very interesting answers to most of these questions and leaves you to ponder the rest. I also have to say that while I never heard of Rosamund Pike, she does a great job here of playing a messed up (and really creepy) female lead. Tyler Perry also is quite good as an unconventional lawyer.

Final Thoughts:

So no spoiler alert this time, just a strong recommendation from me to see this movie! (and it’s really not for anyone under 17). Affleck show’s he has really grown as an actor and I think he’s more than capable of handling "Batman" in a few years. I can say this is one of the best movies I’ve seen this year. A strong 8.5/10 from me, until next time (which will likely be another movie review).

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

