Movie Review: Rush

Details from IMDB:

Rush

 

Rush (I) (2013)

123 min  -  Action | Biography | Drama  -  27 September 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 8.2/10 from 183,716 users   Metascore: 75/100
Reviews: 393 user | 369 critic | 44 from Metacritic.com

The merciless 1970s rivalry between Formula One rivals James Hunt and Niki Lauda.

Director:

Ron Howard

Writer:

Peter Morgan

Stars:

Daniel Brühl, Chris Hemsworth, Olivia Wilde | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

Since "Thor" (and I also remember him from J.J. Abrams "Star Trek") I’ve been a fan of Chris Hemsworth, so that combined with my usual source (IMDB for ratings) and we decided to watch this.

Main Points:

I’ll freely admit I’m not a fan of car racing, I’m just not a sports fan at all (except for any kind of boxing/kickboxing/UFC deal, I’ve always been fascinated with martial arts and combat) so I had no idea who Niki Lauda or James Hunt were, which I guess was a good thing. Chris Hemsworth does a good job here as the partyboy/daredevil race car driver, James Hunt, who dreams of making it big and loves to take chances. While Daniel Brühl plays Niki Lauda, a much more straight-laced/serious/less chancy racer who approaches things almost scientifically and is determined and passionate about racing.

The result is an interesting (and sometimes exciting) movie that goes on a little too long for my taste. Perhaps if I was a fan of Formula One racing I would have enjoyed it a little more. The races themselves do look excellent and Niki and James are presented in equal light as fully realized characters (I know they’re real people, it’s just an expression for this review).

Final Thoughts:

I enjoyed this film and I give it 7.5 out of 10. I’d certainly recommend it to any racing fans or to anyone who likes Chris Hemsworth, I would not recommend it for children as it does have sex scenes, violence and some hard to watch moment with Niki’s time in hospital.

3 Comments

  1. Love this movie.

    • Thanks for your comment 🙂 I enjoyed it too. Like some other movies I find if I’m not a fan of the sport (or know the history) I don’t enjoy it as much. The acting was good all around though and it was a nice story.

      • I agree. I don’t really know much about auto racing, but I really involved in the story. Great direction and acting.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

