Movie Review: Sin City: A Dame to Kill For

Details from IMDB:

SinCity2

Sin City: A Dame to Kill For (2014)

102 min  -  Action | Crime | Thriller  -  22 August 2014 (USA)

Ratings: 7.3/10 from 4,283 users   Metascore: 44/100

Reviews: 24 user | 7 critic | 36 from Metacritic.com

Some of Sin City’s most hard-boiled citizens cross paths with a few of its more reviled inhabitants.

Directors:

Frank Miller, Robert Rodriguez

Writers:

Frank Miller, Frank Miller (graphic novels)

Stars:

Mickey Rourke, Jessica Alba, Josh Brolin | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

Anyway who reads my movie reviews knew I would see this movie, unless the reviews are terrible I generally see every comic book movie I have any interest in. Since I saw the first one, (and the reviews for this were okay) I decided to see the second. Of course the fact that several fine looking ladies had some impact on my decision as well 😉

Main Points:

As with the first one the movie is done in a very stylized way (black and white with splashes of color and a very comic-book type feel). There is plenty of nudity (though strangely none at the actual strip club), lots of action and tons of gore (as per the first). Why the first one was creative and inventive, this one seems a little stale using the same tricks again. With that said I enjoyed seeing these characters brought back on the screen (I’ve read all the comics and enjoyed them) and everyone does a decent job acting wise.

There are some weird things about this movie though, why is Nancy (played again by Jessica Alba) never even topless? Normally this wouldn’t be an issue but she’s an exotic dancer! This just seems very unusual (and I suspect just a part of Alba’s contract). Also why do they never show anyone totally naked? I know this makes me sound a bit pervy but it was in the comics and I’m a purest (to some extent), it’s just weird. Oh and of course it goes without saying, Eva Green, HOT! She is creepy and evil in this movie but damn sexy (and yes I’m aware in some sense this a very GUY movie, most comic books are still written this way).

The movie has two distinct stories and once the first one ends the second feels a little forced, I mean you knew it was coming but I have to admit that for a fairly short movie (102 minutes) I still felt bored at times. The movie reminded me that while Frank Miller has done some amazing stuff, he’s not the best at dialogue and his stories can be a bit repetitive. 

Final Thoughts:

So I enjoyed this movie but the first one was a lot better. Be prepared for some truly cringe-worthy/gory scenes and a few blurry 3D spots (for the most part though see this movie in 3D, it does look good 90% of the time). Don’t bring children (or even anyone under 17!) but if you enjoyed the first, I’d recommend this with the reservations noted. 6.5 out of 10 from me, next will be a documentary review. Have a good one all!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

