Movie Review: Guardians of the Galaxy

Details from IMDB:

GOTG

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

121 min  -  Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi  -  1 August 2014 (USA)

Ratings: 8.7/10 from 118,506 users   Metascore: 76/100
Reviews: 466 user | 216 critic | 46 from Metacritic.com

Light years from Earth, 26 years after being abducted, Peter Quill finds himself the prime target of a manhunt after discovering an orb wanted by Ronan the Accuser.

Director:

James Gunn

Writers:

James Gunn, Nicole Perlman, 2 more credits »

Stars:

Chris Pratt, Vin Diesel, Bradley Cooper | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

Come on, you know I see every Marvel movie the past few years (why wouldn’t you?). So there was no chance I wouldn’t see this. After one failed attempt (it was sold out) I bought my tickets ahead of time and spent $62 total (it’s expensive as all hell here to see a movie with snacks in IMAX) and went. It’s worth noting that even though I’ve been reading comics about 25 years I can honestly say I’ve read 1 Guardians of the Galaxy comic and had almost no idea who these characters where (except from the previews).

Main Points:

Where to start, this movie is excellent! Right from the start I was smiling and laughing. All the characters are great and there’s some really good acting. The special effects at times were excellent and the music is right up my alley (I’m a fan of music from the 60s-90s almost exclusively). It’s the best movie I’ve seen Vin Diesel in for quite a while (probably ever) and I thought Michael Rooker (who has a smaller role) also did a great job. There are nods to other Marvel movies and characters and of course wait for the very end with not one but two bonus scenes (the last one is maybe the best part of the whole movie).

As I think of  myself as some kind of critic I do have to point out some minor problems. I found that with IMAX 3D there were several moments (5-6 of them) where the screen got blurry on the edges. This could be the fault of the cinema I was in but none the less it’s distracting and took me out of the movie a little. Also as I did read a comic just before the movie I was curious to see how they would do Rocket (the raccoon, who yes is named after the Beatles song). I don’t think Rocket is done quite right, he is supposed to be meaner and more bloodthirsty than is shown here, this is possibly a limitation of a PG-13 movie.

Back to the positive, Stan Lee’s cameo is here of course (and it’s a really funny one) and I though the smaller roles of people like John C. Reily and Glen Close were utilized well. There are some great 80s references and some excellent action scenes. I have to say Groot was fantastic. For a character who only ever has one line they did him perfectly, the interactions between Groot and Rocket are some of the funniest and most clever parts of the film.

Final Thoughts:

If you’re any kind of geek or just simply a fan of great action/comedies you NEED to see this movie. I am hoping to see it twice I enjoyed it that much. Marvel has shown they can literally take an unknown comic and turn it into an excellent movie franchise (2 is coming of course). Bring on Dr. Strange and Ant Man! (and another movie I won’t spoil the name of that is hinted at for the final scene). So I give this a very strong recommendation, it’s probably the best movie I’ve seen this year, 8.5/10. Once more not recommended for small children. Let’s hope Sin City 2 can be half as good. Until next time, have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

