Movie Review: Godzilla

Godzilla

Godzilla (2014)

123 min  -  Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi  -  16 May 2014 (USA)

Ratings: 7.3/10 from 80,965 users   Metascore: 62/100
Reviews: 773 user | 374 critic | 48 from Metacritic.com

The world’s most famous monster is pitted against malevolent creatures who, bolstered by humanity’s scientific arrogance, threaten our very existence.

Director:

Gareth Edwards

Writers:

Max Borenstein (screenplay), Dave Callaham (story)

Stars:

Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Elizabeth Olsen, Bryan Cranston | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

I’ll admit right away that I’m not much of a Godzilla fan. I’m even a little ashamed to admit that the only other movie I’ve seen (in it’s entirety) is that horrible piece of crap with Matthew Broderick from 1998 (please don’t see it but if you’re curious here’s the link to laugh at). So I had heard lots about this movie (mostly good) and a couple of weeks ago I got to see it. The fact that Bryan Cranston (who with that’s of other people I came to love after Breaking Bad) was a nice bonus too.

Main Points:

Aaron Taylor-Johnson (of Kick-ass) does a good job here as does Elizabeth Olsen and of course Cranston. Without getting spoilery I would have like to see more of Cranston (his part in the movie is very small) and movie of Godzilla. The special effects are top notch and the action is a lot of fun but the story falls flat in a few places. There are also some gaping plot holes that I couldn’t help but notice.

Those concerns aside this is the Godzilla movie I was waiting for! He is the king of the monsters and he shows it here. His breath weapon looks great, he’s vicious (and yet manages to have a nap) and even uses his tail. I thought the action cut away from the monster fights too much but still shows what kind of crazy destruction giant monsters fighting can do (and on more than one city).

Final Thoughts:

I would certainly recommend this (but not for kids as always). I’m sure a better Godzilla movie could be made, but this is a good start. 7/10 from me, it runs a little long and dwells a little too much on the humans but overall is a fun summer movie you should check out if it’s still playing near you. I have some catching up to do so the next couple of posts will likely be movie reviews, speaking of I’m off to a movie now!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

