Movie Review: The Lego Movie

Lego

Details from IMDB:

 

The Lego Movie (2014)

100 min  -  Animation | Adventure | Comedy  -  7 February 2014 (USA)

Ratings: 8.4/10 from 35,052 users   Metascore: 82/100

Reviews: 174 user | 214 critic | 40 from Metacritic.com

An ordinary LEGO minifigure, mistakenly thought to be the extraordinary MasterBuilder, is recruited to join a quest to stop an evil LEGO tyrant from gluing the universe together.

Directors:

Phil Lord, Christopher Miller

Writers:

Dan Hageman (story), Kevin Hageman (story), 4 more credits »

Stars:

Will Arnett, Elizabeth Banks, Alison Brie | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

I had heard good things about this movie and I loved Legos as a child, that plus the fact that my wife and I wanted to take our niece to this sealed the deal.

Main Points:

This was a fun movie, I enjoyed it even more than I thought I would. It is full of characters I know (including Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern, C-3PO, Han Solo, Chewbacca, Gandalf and Lando). I was expecting this to be a movie just for kids but I was pleasantly surprised by some nice adult humor and even some serious messages. I have to say that Batman is my favourite character and this movie does a great job with him. Batman is lighthearted (for some parts)  and ultimately always does the right thing (as Batman pretty well always does). Will Arnett goes a great job bring the character to life. So I guess to go any further means…

SPOILER ALERT!

So the big twist of the movie is that the Lego world is actually a massive playset and the imagination of a young boy. The boy is dealing with some emotional issues with his Dad and I was surprised when it turned out to be Will Ferrell (who is only called "the man upstairs"). I find most children’s movies very predictable but this was not something I expected. While I don’t have children I thought the message here of finding a way to enjoy your hobbies with your kids (and let them share in the fun you have) to be very positive and appealed to the kid inside me.

Final Thoughts:

The movie has some flaws, for a short movie I did find a few spots dragged and the movie could have used a little more musical variety (only 2 songs were featured in the movie as far as I could tell). The Lego pieces/animation where excellent and the use of many characters and lots of great voice acting certainly added to my enjoyment. I give this a strong 8/10 and for a rare change I can recommend this to all ages (my niece is 3 and really enjoyed it). Tomorrow will be my just in time for the Oscars review of "American Hustle".

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

