Movie Review: The Hunger Games: Catching Fire

Details from IMDB:

CatchingFire

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)

146 min  -  Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi  -  22 November 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 7.6/10 from 6,902 users   Metascore: 74/100
Reviews: 12 user | 68 critic | 25 from Metacritic.com

Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark become targets of the Capitol after their victory in the 74th Hunger Games sparks a rebellion in the Districts of Panem.

Director:

Francis Lawrence

Writers:

Simon Beaufoy (screenplay), Michael Arndt (screenplay), 1 more credit »

Stars:

Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

I saw the first “Hunger Games” movie (and enjoyed it) so of course I wanted to see where the story lead and saw part 2 this week. I also enjoy many of the actors (Jennifer Lawrence in particular) and this further influenced my decision.

Main Points:

To be honest I thought this was not as good as the first movie. At almost 2.5 hours I thought there was a good 45 minutes that almost nothing happens. Also the whole love triangle between Katniss. Peeta and Gale is getting really old, for a brave, smart and tough woman she sure has a hard time with her emotions and men.

I guess before I go on…

SPOILER ALERT!

In an attempt to kill Katniss and the other champions they is a special Hunger Games where former winners compete against each other. I thought here that while there was some good action and special effects it was too similar to the first movie.

There are things I liked, President Snow (Sutherland) is quite good and is Cinna (Kravitz) along with some other good performances. The action scenes are good and near the end the revolution begins in earnest with a nice lead in to the third movie.

Final Thoughts:

If you enjoyed the first one that certainly I’d recommend the 2nd but just be prepared to be bored with a slow start. Once again the movie should not be seen by young children. Overall I give this a 6/10, if you haven’t seen Captain Phillips yet (I saw it tonight) I’d suggest that first. Until next time I am, as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

