Movie Review: Ender’s Game

Details from IMDB:

EndersGame

Ender’s Game (2013)

114 min  -  Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi  -  1 November 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 7.2/10 from 20,341 users   Metascore: 51/100
Reviews: 217 user | 185 critic | 39 from Metacritic.com

Young Ender Wiggin is recruited by the International Military to lead the fight against the Formecs, a genocidal alien race which nearly annihilated the human race in a previous invasion.

Director:

Gavin Hood

Writers:

Gavin Hood (screenplay), Orson Scott Card (based on the book Ender’s Game by)

Stars:

Harrison Ford, Asa Butterfield, Hailee Steinfeld | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:

I’m a big fan of the book Ender’s Game (I have read some other Orson Scott Card which was good too). I should say though before I go any further that I am not a fan of his beliefs or ideas, to be clear Card is an asshole. His writing, however, can be quite good and when I heard about this movie I had to see it.

Main Points:

Harrison Ford and Ben Kingsley turn in good parts here as does Asa Buttefield. As is the case with most any movie (with the notable exceptions of Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit) generally the books are always better than the movies and such is the case here. That said though this is a good movie that I enjoyed. The special effects are good, it is mostly faithful to the story and moves along at a nice pace.

To say any more means…

SPOILER ALERT!

Ender thinks he’s preparing for a real war and while we learn a little before in the movie (a lot before if you read the book) that it’s the actual war, for the character it’s a huge shock. I think the problem here is that while I knew people who had not read the book may not have and yet they give it away! This seemed like a big flaw to me, one of the parts I loved about the book was the big surprise at the end.

Other things liked the violence being toned down didn’t bother me, the child actors (however) often did. It’s a bit of a problem when you like the grumpy old minor characters rather than the main ones in the story (except for Ender though).

Also while Ender has his little breakdown even for someone who hadn’t read the book I found it really obvious that he will go back, it’s realistic for someone to crack under all the pressure Ender has but still makes the story a little predictable and slows it down.

Final Thoughts:

I enjoyed this movie, not nearly as much as the book but as I said before that’s almost never the case. Card came up with some great ideas and these are shown in the movie (he thought of how aspects of the internet would work way back in 1984 for example). Child soldiers are sadly a reality even now and his prediction that they will be critical in the future is a depressing but sadly realistic one. I’d recommend this movie to anyone who is a fan of the book, sci-fi or even just Harrison Ford. It’s certainly not for children but I’d certainly see a sequel. 7/10 from me and a mild recommendation. Next will be an interview, followed by at least 2 more movie reviews (been on a kick lately). Until next time I am, as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

