Interview with Dawn Colclasure, author of Shadow Of Samhain

ShadowofSamhain9

What’s your name (pen if you prefer) and what are you here to promote?

Dawn Colclasure and I’m here to share with your readers information about the release of my new novel, Shadow of Samhain.

Me with Chewie on 91413c

Is this your first book or have you been writing for a while?

I’ve been writing for a while, to be sure. I started writing as a child and have been working on it ever since. Shadow of Samhain is my first novel and 15th book.

Is this book part of a series?

Not a part of a series, though I’ve had readers read the original version of this story and ask for a sequel. I just don’t see it in the stars.

Tell me a little about the book, what genre, short summary, that kind of thing, also what age group is it meant for?

My book is called Shadow of Samhain and it’s a dark fantasy novel. It’s appropriate for readers in the New Adult genre (18-30) because at the beginning of the story, my character, a high school graduate, leaves home for the big wide world. The only problem is, she’s carrying baggage from her past, and in this case, it’s baggage she has to deal with instead of dropping. As a child, an ancient Druid haunted her dreams for years, and now she’s reliving those nightmares. Everyone tells her they are just dreams and that she needs to move on in her life, but after she enters her twenties, they spiral out of control and my character realizes she must put an end to an ancient curse before it’s too late.

How about a little bit about you? (or a lot if you prefer) What makes you tick? What turn’s you on? 😉

Oh, daring and adventurous men embracing a sense of wanderlust are the kind who turn me on. 😉 I’m the kinda girl who likes to embrace adventure and take the road less traveled. I don’t believe in traditional roles and I have been through far too much in life to tolerate negative people or people who discriminate against others. “No drama” is my motto. Well, that, and “Take life by the horns!” I really feel that you can’t write about life unless you are actually living it. I like spontaneity, fun and silliness. I am not afraid to be silly or funny in front of people; why be afraid of what everybody else thinks of you? That’s no way to live! Be yourself and live life. It’s yours for the taking!

What is the trait you value most in others?

Above all, kindness. I am a burn survivor with scars on my face. You can imagine what kind of torments I had to deal with from bullies and mean classmates. People who look past a person’s scars to see the person on the inside and actually be kind to them earn heaps respect from me. Be kind to each other. Believe me, it matters.

If you could have two superpowers what would they be and why?

The two superpowers I’d love to have are the ability to run very fast ( I LOVE running!) and super strength!

Marvel or DC?

Oh, you had to pull that question out of your hat! : ) It’s so hard to decide. I LOVE the X-Men and Spider-man, and I also like the Incredible Hulk and Iron Man. But my heart will always belong to Superman, so DC it is.

Favourite TV show?

I love to watch the Law & Order shows as well as Doctor Who.

Have you always been interested in writing?

My first love was telling stories, so in a way, that was pretty much a fascination with writing. It was only later that I started writing stories down.

What do you think is the best part about being a writer?

The best part about being a writer is always learning new things. Even if you are writing fiction, you learn new things. I love the research aspect of being a writer; you never know what you’ll find out next!

What’s the worst part of writing?

Ugh, the tedious work! You know, putting together bibliographies, table of contents, appendices, notes and such? Boring! It makes me want to tear my hair out!

Do you think the future is in Ebooks? Or will print make a comeback?

I believe the future is in both print and ebooks. There are always going to be people who will never abandon their love for an actual book, the kind made with paper. I am one of them.

Do you like your job?

I love my job! I get to work with children! As a person with burn scars, I hope this will allow these kids to learn that they cannot judge a person by how they look. Look at what a person who is not so beautiful can do for them! Hopefully, that means they’ll grow up with a little more sensitivity to others.

If you could have a different career/job what would it be?

Oh, wow. I don’t think I’d ever be satisfied with being just one thing! I like to wear many hats! But if I had to pick one, it’d definitely be a job in rescuing animals.

What are you reading right now?

Right now, I am reading Celtic Mythology by John Arnott MacCulloch. It’s quite fascinating, actually.

What was the last movie you saw?

World War Z.

What was the last book you really loved?

A Mercy by Toni Morrison. I read that book in one day! I could not put it down. Such a powerful novel and the characters’ stories were so real. Their voices were amazing. That book really blew me away.

Have you ever met someone you only talked to online before?

Yes, this has actually happened. I was once a member of a site called CollegeClub. It was like a social media site for all the colleges. I happened to start chatting with someone who went to my college and, believe it or not, I was stunned to learn he lived right down the street from me! We arranged to meet and we talked about our school as well as the college paper, which I was writing for at that time. That was pretty neat.

Do you go to Sci-Fi/Fantasy or any other kinds of conventions?

I once went to a poetry convention but, these days, I’m not much for conventions. I hear the comic book conventions are really wild. Maybe I’ll go someday if I can find someone who can sign to come along with me and be my interpreter.

Do you ever read comic books/graphic novels?

I adore comic books and graphic novels. That’s one thing I never outgrew! They rock!

How do you feel about promotion? Any tips for other writers?

I think that promotion is a very important part of being a writer. How else are people going to know about your stuff unless you tell them about it? Even though I have not had sales going through the roof with my books, I will always promote them.

Favourite author?

I have more than one. For fiction, I love books authored by Anne Rice, Stephen King, Michael Crichton and Erin Hunter. For nonfiction, I enjoy books by Ann Rule and Hans Holzer.

Favourite person (living or dead)?

My heroes are all female, especially those who rose up against adversity: Eleanor Roosevelt, Amelia Earhart, Sally Ride and Malala Yousazfai. Girl power!

Would you consider yourself religious?

I am spiritual. I believe in God but I don’t believe in forcing my religious views on other people and I also don’t believe in one gender – male or female – having superiority over the other. I believe in gender equality. I used to proudly call myself a Christian, but there is so much hatred, intolerance, hypocrisy and discrimination happening among those of the Christian faith that I just don’t feel comfortable identifying myself as one among them anymore. God is love and he doesn’t want us to hate or kill others because of a different gender or different sexual preference.

What do you think is the biggest problem in the world today?

The biggest problem in the world today is definitely intolerance. We don’t accept others for their gender, their beliefs and their lifestyles. That is really sad. We’ve had so much violence, wars and terrible atrocities committed against fellow human beings because of intolerance. It takes all kinds to make one world.

If you had all the money you ever wanted, what would you do?

Buy the house I’m living in now! And then maybe set up a college fund for each of my children.

What’s the secret to happiness?

The secret to happiness is learning to forgive. I’ve been through so much and I’ve learned it’s not worth it to carry around anger, bitterness and hatred to those who have done us wrong. You can’t really heal if you do that. By learning to forgive, we can move past the bad things in life and walk confidently towards our futures.

Thanks for taking the time to talk with me, best of luck with your book!

banner(1)

Genre: Dark Fantasy, New Adult

Publisher: Gypsy Shadow Publishing

Formats Available In: All eBook formats and Print

Release Date: October 2013

Blurb: She called him the “dark man.”
Who is Jonathan, a man haunting Malissa Ratham’s dreams? What sort of secrets from his past does he try to keep buried? Everybody says the dreams are only dreams and nothing more. But soon Malissa starts acting strangely, knowing about ancient Druidic rituals and a history too mysterious to unearth. With the help of Jovin, an ancient Druidic spirit on a mission to stop Jonathan from his path of death and destruction, and Tessie Malkin, a psychic with an advantage over Jonathan’s power, Malissa must owe up to her past and walk between worlds to destroy an ancient curse…
…before it is too late

Amazon

Gypsy Shadow Publishing

About Dawn Colclasure:

Dawn Colclasure is the author of five books, among them BURNING THE MIDNIGHT OIL: How We Survive as Writing Parents and 365 TIPS FOR WRITERS: Inspiration, Writing Prompts and Beat The Block Tips to Turbo Charge Your Creativity. Her articles, essays, poems, book reviews and short stories have been published in regional and national newspapers and magazines, as well as online. She lives and writes in Oregon with her husband and children.
Blog |DeviantArt| Facebook | Goodreads | MySpace | Twitter | Website

Finally the contest!

Here’s the link, my thanks to Dawn, fascinating person and a great interview.

2 Comments

  1. Thanks so much for the interview! I had fun answering the questions. 🙂

    • You’re welcome 🙂 it was a pleasure to have you, have a happy Halloween! (little early but I couldn’t resist 😉


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

