Movie Review: Gravity

Details from IMDB:

Image

Gravity (2013)

91 min  –  Drama | Sci-Fi | Thriller  –  4 October 2013 (USA)
Ratings: 8.6/10 from 76,803 users   Metascore: 96/100

A medical engineer and an astronaut work together to survive after an accident leaves them adrift in space.

Director:

Alfonso Cuarón

Writers:

Alfonso Cuarón, Jonás Cuarón, 1 more credit »

Stars:

Sandra Bullock, George Clooney, Ed Harris | See full cast and crew »

Initial thoughts:

I had heard a fair bit about this movie, reviews, people standing around talking about it and of course it was mentioned on the news. As usual none of that really mattered, I love George Clooney and will see most anything he does. I’ve also come to quite enjoy Sandra Bullock (though not as much) and of course I had heard all about the special effects being amazing, so of course we went.

I also wanted to say that I wished that I didn’t know as much about this movie that I did. The reviews I read revealed a little too much and the preview itself gave away more than it should have. I know this is a product of the times we live in and lots of movies have previews that give away too much, I’m just lamenting that sometimes this isn’t a good thing.

Main Points:

The movie, while excellent, does have a few flaws. As you can tell from the preview something goes terribly wrong in space, so the first 10 or so minutes are kind of a waste as you know what’s coming. Also for a movie that deals so much with science there are some problems, Dr. Stone (Bullock) cries and the  tears roll down here face (not possibly in zero-g), also her hair stays flat on her head when it should clearly stand on end. There are other errors too, I know it sounds nit-picky but these things took me out of the film. When a movie is clearly science based (rather than science-fiction) these details matter. With those points in mind they do get a very important detail right, space is silent. This makes the action scenes in space even more intense and terrifying.

With those things aside this movie is really exciting, beautifully shot and features some excellent performances. George Clooney has a smaller role but has never been better. Sandra Bullock once again shows not only can she handle a serious role but also she can carry most of a movie herself. I saw this is in 3D but only because the IMAX time was so damn inconvenient. With special effects that show earth so well from space (and general space/atmosphere shots) I would strongly recommend IMAX 3D, not a lot of movies are worth it but this one is. On a personal note we’re finally getting Cineplex Odeon

Final Thoughts:

I highly recommend this movie and give it a strong 8/10. Sandra Bullock could easily win an Oscar and will most certainly be nominated. While this certainly doesn’t want to make anyone want to be an astronaut (at least certainly not me) it certainly makes for a great film.  Also worth noting is that Ed Harris does a nice job as the voice of NASA. Next will be my review of “Prisoners” (another excellent movie). Have a great night everyone.

 

2 Comments

  1. Probably the most visually stunning movie I’ve seen since Avatar, which is really saying something. Good review.

    • I agree, it looked absolutely incredible 🙂 The long shots of space and the earth, sadly when I saw it there were assholes in the theatre who wouldn’t shut up and were kicking my seat. At least after I complained I got free passes.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

