Movie Review: Enough Said

Image

Details from IMDB:

Enough Said (2013)

93 min  –  Comedy  –  18 October 2013 (Ireland)
Ratings: 7.6/10 from 897 users   Metascore: 79/100

A divorced woman who decides to pursue the man she’s interested in learns he’s her new friend’s ex-husband.

Director:

Nicole Holofcener

Writer:

Nicole Holofcener

Stars:

Julia Louis-Dreyfus, James Gandolfini, Catherine Keener | See full cast and crew »

Initial Thoughts:
Like many other people I was sad to hear that Gandolfini died earlier this year, he was a good actor and I’ll miss him. So yes I suppose that means it was a kind of morbid curiosity that got to me to see this movie, one of his last roles. And we take turns with movies and this was my wife’s pick 🙂 I am also a fan of Julia Louis-Dreyfus (she’ll always be Elaine to me) so last week we went to see this.
Main Points:
Gandolfini does a good job here as a lonely and slightly set in his ways divorced Dad. I have to say that while I always found Elaine the least funny character on Seinfeld, I must say Julia has improved and I enjoyed her performance in this movie as well. She is funny and it is nice to see her get to a character with range as there are some serious and a few touching moments in this film.
To be honest I was glad it was just 93 minutes as there isn’t a whole lot of story. I think the trailer gives it away so I can say it here, basically Eve (Julia) is a masseuse and has Albert’s (James) ex-wife for a client. Of course Eva’s dating Albert and this is big secret for a lot of the movie. Once the secret is out, however, there’s really nowhere else for the story to go.
I did an interview online earlier this week and talked about this, it’s why I usually enjoy sci-fi/fantasy/horror movies more, watching people talk, argue and sometimes just stare at each other just isn’t interesting (except for a few rare exceptions). I think most of the time movies show be an escape from reality, not a reminder of how dull and depressing our lives can be.
Final Thoughts:
Despite what I said I did enjoy this movie for the actors and some funny/clever moments. If you’re fan of either actors and not on a first date (it doesn’t speak well for romance) I’d give this a mild recommendation. 7/10 from me, next time most likely  another movie review, this time my choice 🙂
Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

