Interview with Mathew Bridle, author of “Young Warlock” for Page Turner Book Tours

Young Warlock banner

Hi all 🙂 I’ve been a little other the weather, so no con report or other post yet. It’s coming along with some other news. In the meantime another interview with a really interesting guy (and author in his own right) enjoy and have a great weekend! =)

About Mathew Bridle:

Mathew Bridle (born 1963) heralds from the south of England where he lives with his wife of 17 years and his three house monkeys (children). He began writing novels in the late 1990’s with The Rising, an 80’s style horror novel. A second novel quickly followed, 3 Phaze, a science fiction story set in the last days of the Earth. His third, Lagoon, inspired by the X-files is a sci-fi horror, brutal and sexual.
Nowadays he spends his time writing fantasy with Young Warlock as the first full instalment of this epic saga. When not writing he likes to relax with his Kindle, most likely reading either a classic fantasy or something from a new indie author. Either that or wrestling the controls for the Xbox from one of children.

Facebook

Goodreads

Twitter

Website

What’s your name (pen if you prefer) and what are you here to promote?

My Name is Mathew Bridle and I’m currently doing my first round of promotion for my latest novel ‘Young Warlock’

Mathew Bridle

Is this your first book or have you been writing for a while?

I’ve been writing for a long time, more than 20 years, but I can definitely say that this book is by far the best I’ve written.

Is this book part of a series?

The first, Emun of Mor, which is free, serves as a broad introduction to the world in which my saga takes place. It was originally released by an Indie house called Vamplit Publishing who are sadly no longer with us.

Tell me a little about the book, what genre, short summary, that kind of thing, also what age group is it meant for?

(I’m really not very good at this)

It is a young adult fantasy, the kind with dragons, orcs, dwarves and loads of magic. In short, Young Warlock, follows the development of Dekor, a young man just finishing his days at university. He becomes seduced by the mistress of the flame and fall on dark times. He ends up on the run from those who were once his friends as he sets out to clear his name. Along the way he encounters many of the characters who will become important in his life as the saga unfolds. He has to learn to overcome many dangers in a land on the brink of war.

How about a little bit about you? (or a lot if you prefer) What makes you tick? What turn’s you on? 😉

I’m a bit of an odd one really. I don’t get excited about much at all. Not very good at sharing personal things – very British, stiff upper lip and all that. I do however possess and absolutely mad sense of humor. I find all of the wrong things funny at the most (apparently) inappropriate times. I do like a laugh.

I work full time in a day center for adults with learning disabilities, I love the people who I work with, they are so unpredictable. Often we spend our time just making each other laugh.

I enjoy spending time with some friends from church who I help run a small charity with, www.advanceinternational.org.uk. We are trying to raise funds to finish a school and orphanage in Uganda, it’s taken a long time but coming along nicely.

What is the trait you value most in others?

Honesty.

If you could have two superpowers what would they be and why?

To be able to teleport and heal. So many people need help, the quicker I could get there the better.

Marvel or DC?

Marvel, always been a fan of the Hulk.

Favourite TV show?

Got a few of these: Star Trek, Original and next gen. Game of Thrones, season three was brilliant. But the daddy for time being is the awesome Breaking Bad.

Have you always been interested in writing?

When I was in primary school I wrote a story that filled a whole exercise book, that’s when I discovered I could tell a story. I’m at my happiest when writing, even something like this interview.

 What do you think is the best part about being a writer?

When somebody you don’t know falls in love with your work.

What’s the worst part of writing?

The internet snipers who slate everything because they can and think that they are truly anonymous.

Do you think the future is in Ebooks? Or will print make a comeback?

There’s a place for both. Amazon have just made it so that you can offer your ebook alongside the print version at an offer price or even for free. Things like that will really help keep print alive. They do the same for music, so I buy the CD and get the free mp3 too.

Do you like your job?

Yes, my job is very busy but also very rewarding.

 If you could have a different career/job what would it be?

Writing.

What are you reading right now?

I’m about to start abook called The Rise of Xosha by S.Cu’Anam Policar, but I’m still wading through, The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan.

What was the last movie you saw?

I recently took my 15 year old daughter to see Riddick, the other two will have to wait until the bluray is out.

What was the last book you really loved?

Believe it or not it was an indie author, Jeff Gardiner a school teacher by trade who wrote a fantastic book about bullying called Myopia. I can’t recommend it enough.

Have you ever met someone you only talked to online before?

Yes, I’ve met a few authors at a local pop-up book shop, a brilliant idea by a fellow author.

Do you go to Sci-Fi/Fantasy or any other kinds of conventions?

No, but I would love to go to Comicon.

Do you ever read comic books/graphic novels?

Yes. I have a rare copy of The Hobbit graphic novel which contains all of eth dialogue. I also have the Tallisman.

How do you feel about promotion? Any tips for other writers?

Try it. Get some help and cross-promote. It’s the hardest part of writing.

Favourite author?

I don’t really have a single favourite. I don’t collect anyone’s work. The most books I have by any one author are the How to train your Dragon series by Cressida Cowell.

 Favourite person (living or dead)?

I’d have to (sic) Jesus, he’s never been a disappointment.

Would you consider yourself religious?

No. that might seem strange after the last answer. I do not see religion and faith as anything alike. Faith is believing, religion is blindly following orders not necessarily those of God. I have met football fans who are far more religious than anyone in a cassock.

What do you think is the biggest problem in the world today?

People are not willing to accept responsibility for their own actions.

If you had all the money you ever wanted, what would you do?

Help the poor, orphans, the sick. I’d finish building our school in Africa then go and find another project to help, probably closer to home.

What’s the secret to happiness?

Faith. Know who are you and be content with yourself. If you need to change someone let it be you.

Many thanks for inviting me along.

All the best.

Contest:

 You’re welcome, Thanks for taking the time to talk with me, best of luck with your book. To finish here‘s the contest for this book!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

