Interview with Chrystalla Thoma, author of “Azure” for Page Turner Book Tours

Hi everyone 🙂 I just got back from a convention (post on that later this week) for now though my interview with Chrystalla for Page Turner Book Tours.

What’s your name (pen if you prefer) and what are you here to promote?

Hi! I am Chrystalla and I am here to tell you about my New Adult novel Azure (Drowning In You).

ChrystallaThoma

Is this your first book or have you been writing for a while?

I have been writing for a while. I usually write fantasy and science fiction, so this is my first real foray into contemporary romance (although I wasn’t able to stop myself from adding a touch of paranormal!)

Is this book part of a series?

This is a standalone novel, although the idea of a sequel has been floating about… But, yes, it’s standalone.

Tell me a little about the book, what genre, short summary, that kind of thing, also what age group is it meant for?

Azure is a New Adult romance, which means that it contains mature content and I would say it’s for ages 17+ (for language and sexual content). I have no explicit sex scenes, but they’re described nonetheless. The protagonists are young (18-22).

It is contemporary romance but there is a paranormal twist to it. Not saying more or I’ll be giving the plot away!

Here is the summary:

A terrible mistake haunts college student Olivia Spencer. To escape the past, she travels to the Mediterranean island of Crete, hoping for the courage to start anew.
By the sea, she meets sexy and enigmatic Kai. But there’s more to Kai than meets the eye — and nobody wants to talk about it. The locals shun him, accusing him of magic. Kai, apparently, belongs to the sea, no matter how crazy that sounds.
Kai isn’t free to be with her or live his own life, and this is how he will stay, unless Olivia can break his curse and save him — in doing so atoning for those she failed in the past.

The link to amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Azure-Drowning-In-You-ebook/dp/B00EYG1JCY

How about a little bit about you? (or a lot if you prefer) What makes you tick? What turns you on? 😉

I love the paranormal. I love myths and fairytales and angels and demons, anything that turns the world into a crazier place, with more layers than we know about. I also like love stories, because I believe in love, and am happy when the heroes in the books I read get together.

Get to know me more – I love to hear from readers:

My blog: http://chrystallathoma.wordpress.com/ 

My Facebook author page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Chrystalla-Thoma/117863861560579

What is the trait you value most in others?

Sensitivity – knowing what to say and when, what your friends need, when I white lie can hurt less than the truth… Being able to imagine yourself in another’s shoes.

If you could have two superpowers what would they be and why?

Be invisible (although I usually manage that at parties without any help) and bring back people from death. I know the latter is a power nobody should have, but still I can’t help wanting it. Many loved ones have passed away and I’d love to have them back. Selfish.

Marvel or DC?

Marvel!!

Favourite TV show?

Supernatural (I know, not very original, but the Winchester boys are worth it…)

Have you always been interested in writing?

Yes – I have proof of it since I was nine, at least!

What do you think is the best part about being a writer?

Creating new worlds.

What’s the worst part of writing?

Revising!!

Do you think the future is in Ebooks? Or will print make a comeback?

Ebooks most definitely.

Do you like your job?

Yes. I’m a freelance editor and translator.  And writer!

If you could have a different career/job what would it be?

Famous writer 😉

What are you reading right now?

Starlight by Mimi Strong, sequel to Stardust.

What was the last movie you saw?

The Mortal Instruments.

What was the last book you really loved?

Stardust by Mimi Strong – it’s an amazing series.

Have you ever met someone you only talked to online before?

Yes. I’ve gone for a coffee with writers I met online. Good experiences.

Do you go to Sci-Fi/Fantasy or any other kinds of conventions?

No, I live in Cyprus (Mediterranean island) and it’s kind of far… And expensive!

Do you ever read comic books/graphic novels?

Occasionally. I prefer plain text.

How do you feel about promotion? Any tips for other writers?

The best advise I’ve heard is “keep writing and publishing”. That, and have your readers sign up for your newsletter so that they are informed about your new releases.

Favourite author?

Too many.

Favourite person (living or dead)?

Hard to pick one. My father who died many years ago. I miss him all the time.

Would you consider yourself religious?

Not really, but I do believe there is something more out there…

What do you think is the biggest problem in the world today?

The same as always: inequality. Some people suffer, some don’t know what to do with their wealth.

If you had all the money you ever wanted, what would you do?

I’d keep writing stories. 🙂

What’s the secret to happiness?

To do what you really want, as long as it doesn’t hurt others, and not be afraid of what others will say. Oh and love, of course.

Thanks for taking the time to talk with me, best of luck with your book and hey I’m a writer too. E-mail me anytime if you want to chat TheNLVampire@gmail.com thanks again!

Plus here’s a contest!

azurebanner

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

