Interview with Karyn Pearson author of “Spark” for Page Turner Book Tours

Interview with Karyn Pearson for her novel “Spark”

Spark

First though a little info:

Genre: Paranormal, Fantasy

Book Description:

For centuries, the powers of Heaven and Hell have been at war, locked in a perpetual stalemate. Fifty years ago, the war spilled out on Earth and the last modern age of man ended. Humanity now finds itself at the brink of annihilation, barely surviving in small pockets of civilization scattered across the globe. But even in the direst of circumstances, the human spirit lives on.

Now, in this post-apocalypse, humanity has but one choice: resist or die. In order to combat the forces of Hell, man has learned to fight, training from their youth to hunt the demons that threaten their very existence.

Twenty-five years ago, a demon hunter dared rise against an ancient demon family, the Saligia—the Seven Deadly Sins—and was cursed for her defiance. The curse appeared in the guise of an innocent: the huntress’s own daughter, Ardentia, who had been born with a demon soul attached to her own.

In the present day, Ardentia, now grown, seeks to free her mother from her curse by hunting down the demons responsible. But the road ahead will be difficult now that the demon within her has awakened. Trusting him is dangerous, especially when he can turn on her at a moment’s notice. Others have warned her that succumbing to the demon will be her own downfall.

Now Ardentia must decide what she’s willing to lose: her mother’s freedom or herself.

Karyn

Interview:

What’s your name (pen if you prefer) and what are you here to promote? My name is Karyn Pearson and I’m here to promote my novel, Spark.

Is this your first book or have you been writing for a while?

This is my first completed novel, but I’ve been writing since I was eleven years old.

 Is this book part of a series?

Yes, Spark is the first book in the Hellfire Trilogy.

 Tell me a little about the book, what genre, short summary, that kind of thing, also what age group is it meant for?

Spark is a paranormal/post-apocalyptic fantasy novel geared toward Young and New Adult readers, set in the midst of an ongoing war between angels and demons while mankind struggles to survive. The plot centers on Ardentia, a demon hunter born with a demon’s spirit attached to her soul. In a quest to restore her family’s honor, she finds herself having to work with the demon inside her to fight the Saligia, an upper-level demon family better known as the Seven Deadly Sins, who are responsible for the unusual circumstances of her birth and the black stain on her family’s name.

How about a little bit about you? (or a lot if you prefer) What makes you tick? What turn’s you on? 😉

What do I even say about myself? Well, first and foremost, I am a writer. I’ve got countless numbers of stories to tell and hundreds of characters running around in my mind fighting for headspace. It wouldn’t be unusual to find me deep in conversation with aforementioned characters. But when I’m not writing, I’m reading whenever I can find the time between taking care of my fur babies, 6 year old Jamie, a male purebred German Shepherd, and 3 year old Nikki, a female German Shepherd/Yellow Lab mix.

What is the trait you value most in others?

Respect. Too often I see others fail to respect one another because of their differences and in the end, people end up hurt or worse. If a person can see the differences between themselves and another person and respect and accept those differences and not judge that person for those differences, then that’s a rare gem of a person right there. Even people who offer smaller gestures of respect, like respecting authority or one’s elders, are just as valuable.

If you could have two superpowers what would they be and why?

The ability to teleport for one, so I can get to wherever I want to go faster and not have to deal with getting stuck in traffic. The second power I’d want to have is the ability to see the future so I can always know what’s coming—I hate going into things unprepared.

Marvel or DC?

Marvel!

Favourite TV show?

I have so many favorites. It’s really hard to choose just one. At the moment, it’s probably Doctor Who. But The Vampire Diaries, Supernatural, Orphan Black, Avatar: The Last Airbender, and The Legend of Korra are all tied for second.

Have you always been interested in writing?

More or less, yeah. At first, it was just a hobby. I wrote fanfiction for the fun of it, but over time I started to be more serious with my writing. I wanted to really work to make my dream of being a published author come true, so I started pushing myself to come up with original ideas. Today, I can say all that hard work has definitely paid off.

What do you think is the best part about being a writer?

Being able to freely create whatever my brain can think up. There’s no format or mold to fit into, I can just do whatever I want without restriction.

What’s the worst part of writing?

Knowing exactly what you want to happen next but being unable to put it into words. I have this problem a lot—I can see the scene in my mind clearly, but trying to translate the images in my mind and get it down on the page can sometimes be a daunting, if not impossible, task.

Do you think the future is in Ebooks? Or will print make a comeback?

I think as our world gets more and more digital, eBooks will definitely become more popular for their convenience, portability, and the ease of purchase. But I wouldn’t say that print will be made obsolete. Print will probably win out as the format to preserve the most important, timeless works of literature.

Do you like your job?

Absolutely, I love it!

If you could have a different career/job what would it be?

An archaeologist, because I love the idea of uncovering things lost to the past, or a professional cosplayer, because it’s something I’ve always wanted to do and I know if I put as much effort into it as I do my writing, I’d be pretty good.

What are you reading right now?

I’m currently reading Dante Alighieri’s The Divine Comedy: Inferno.

What was the last movie you saw?

The last movie I saw in theaters was Iron Man 3.

What was the last book you really loved?

This is a tough one. But I’d have to say J.A. Redmerski’s The Edge of Never. The books I really love are the ones that can make me cry, and let me tell you, there were tears over that one.

Have you ever met someone you only talked to online before?

Yes I have.

Do you go to Sci-Fi/Fantasy or any other kinds of conventions?

No, but I’d like to go one day. I’ve been dying to go to Anime Expo since 2003.

Do you ever read comic books/graphic novels?

Yes. I read Naruto and Bleach weekly in Shonen Jump.

How do you feel about promotion? Any tips for other writers?

I feel that promotion seems like a lot of work when you’re first starting out. In fact, it probably seems like a mountain you’ll never be able to climb. You’ll stare at it and wonder how promotions could possibly help your book sell, thinking the idea is absolutely silly. But once you start doing the promotion and get into the swing of it, it gets easier. It’s more than possible, just tedious at times. And once you get past the idea of how traditional published vs. indie-published marketing works, you’ll start to see how much of a difference all the promotion can make. So to other writers, I’d just like to say that promotion is not pointless and it’s not impossible. If you keep at it and you work as hard to sell your book as you did to write it, you’ll see some amazing results.

Favourite author?

My favorite author is J.K. Rowling. Without her, I would have had no childhood and no reason to start writing stories in the first place.

Favourite person (living or dead)?

I really can’t choose someone without being redundant. The only person I can think of is again, J.K. Rowling. I’ve never met her, but if I ever do, I’ll have so much to thank her for. She gave me so many things from her books than I’ll ever be able to fully express and I feel I owe her quite a debt. Reading Harry Potter books when I was a child really helped mold me into the person I’ve grown to be.

Would you consider yourself religious?

Not at all, which I find fairly ironic given the fact that I’m writing a trilogy that draws heavily from Catholic teachings and demonology.

What do you think is the biggest problem in the world today?

Intolerance. People bully one another because of intolerance, while others are shunned and branded outsiders because the rest of the world refuses to accept them for who they are. We have had people die because of intolerance; we’ve gone to war due to intolerance. It doesn’t matter how old or young you are, intolerance affects everyone in some way, shape or form. It’s time we grow as a society to change this and become more. We need to learn to be more receptive, more accepting of the differences that set us each apart from one another and stop fearing what we don’t understand. If we just took the time to open a line of communication, then a lot of these problems would likely disappear.

If you had all the money you ever wanted, what would you do?

I’d first donate to ASPCA and the Olive Tree Initiative. I’d also take a lot of classes to learn foreign languages and travel the world. I’d try to use my wealth to create change and see if I couldn’t resolve a few of the major issues in the world.

What’s the secret to happiness?

Doing what you love and having people you love to share it with.

Thanks for the great interview Karyn, I wish you the best of luck with “Spark” and all your future writing 🙂

Also a giveaway!

spark banner

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

