Movie Reivew: At World’s End

Hi all,

Another movie review, you know I love them.

Details from IMDB:

WorldsEnd

The World’s End (2013)

109 min  –  Action | Comedy | Sci-Fi  –  23 August 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 7.6/10 from 26,747 users   Metascore: 81/100

Five friends who reunite in an attempt to top their epic pub crawl from 20 years earlier unwittingly become humankind’s only hope for survival.

Director:

Edgar Wright

Writers:

Simon Pegg, Edgar Wright

Stars:

Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Martin Freeman | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

I like Simon Pegg, he’s another actor that I’ll see a movie just because he’s in it. For this movie though it was also the fact that Edgar Wright directed it and it’s the same world/universe as “Shaun of the Dead” and “Hot Fuzz“. I had also heard good things about, so I finally got to see it before it left theatres here.

Main Points:

Unfortunately I think this is the worst of the three movies. Simon Pegg’s character this time, Gary King, is so sad, pathetic and ultimately depressing. Everyone misses their youth (well I sure do) but I certainly wouldn’t want to relive one night when I was 17 over and over again. He is literally stuck in the mindset of a 17-year-old and does anything to get his friends to complete a pub crawl they started over 20 years ago.

I’m sounding very negative, there are funny parts to this movie and there were time where I had fun. It’s just that these were spaced out too much. I guess before I go any further…

SPOILER ALERT!

So in turns out that at their old hometown people have been replaced by these things called blanks, they aren’t technically robots so maybe you could call them cyborgs? I’m not sure. In any case the movie becomes a fight of the friends (and a couple of other humans) versus all the blanks in the town. They are eventually trapped at a blank hideout under (you guessed it) the world’s end bar and their final stop on the pub crawl. One of the really good scenes is when Gary and his friend managed to convince the aliens to leave earth. Of course by doing so they bring about the end of the civilized world as every piece of technology is destroyed when the aliens leave.

Oh also for a comedy two of the friends die and Gary’s lifelong quest to finish the pub crawl is all for nothing as he doesn’t have a drink at the last bar. If all of that wasn’t sad/depressing enough he also lied to his friend’s about his mother dying just so he could get them to go on the pub crawl with him.

Final Thoughts:

For a comedy I just found this movie too depressing. I usually see a movie as an escape, a brief trip into a fantasy world. This one just made me think that the best years are behind me, friends change and dreams are left unfulfilled. I know there is such a thing as dark comedy but I didn’t find too much of that here, just darkness. Anyway enough doom and gloom talk. If you like the director and Simon I would still give this a minor recommendation. I would say watch the other two first and save this for a time when you’re in the mood for something more serious. 6/10 from me (and as usual don’t bring children). Until next time (which will be a promo/interview tomorrow 🙂 I am, as always…

SignatureBW_0003_thumb.gif

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

