Movie Review: End of Watch

Details from IMDB:

EndofWatch

End of Watch (2012)

109 min  -  Crime | Drama | Thriller  -  21 September 2012 (USA)

Ratings: 7.6/10 from 104,879 users   Metascore: 68/100
Reviews: 271 user | 326 critic | 37 from Metacritic.com

Shot documentary-style, this film follows the daily grind of two young police officers in LA who are partners and friends, and what happens when they meet criminal forces greater than themselves.

Director:

David Ayer

Writer:

David Ayer

Stars:

Jake Gyllenhaal, Michael Peña, Anna Kendrick | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Like a lot of movies I watch I follow certain actors, Jake Gyllenhaal is one of them. While I’m sure he’s done not so great movies, I can’t think of one. So I was on vacation a few weeks ago and decided to watch this. I also like Anna Kendrick and was pleased to see she was in this.

Main Thoughts:

This is done as a documentary style movie with shaky cam, while this style is popular I am getting tired of. Having watched plenty of episodes of COPS I couldn’t help the comparison for the first 10-15 minutes. The movie follows two cops in LA who play rather fast and loose with the rules.  They become very close friends and I enjoyed lighter moments they shared and how their lives become even more connected as they both get married and have a child.  Also throughout the movie are some funny pranks and good natured ribbing with other cops. They two main characters here are heroic and they get results but the manage to piss off their superior and get the attention of a drug cartel.

There are some great action scenes and some emotional moments, the final shootout at the end is excellent as well but the real important part…

SPOILER ALERT!

One of the cops dies to save his partner’s life. It is a beautiful moving scene that I thought Kendrick and Gyllenhaal did a great job. I wasn’t expecting one of  them to die and it came as a surprise to me.

Final Thoughts:

As I said before the shaky cam style needs to stop! It is explained in the beginning of the movie but I’ve just seen enough of it. I know it sounds petty but there are scenes here where it’s actual hard to see what’s going on and that’s a big problem. As such I do still recommend this movie (once more not for children) and I give it 7/10 Thumbs up. Next up will most likely be another movie review unless I hear back from some new interviewees Smile. Until next time I am, as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

