Movie Review: The Wolverine

Details from IMDB:

TheWolverine

 

The Wolverine (2013)

126 min  -  IAction | Adventure | Fantasy  -  26 July 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 7.1/10 from 70,659 users   Metascore: 60/100
Reviews: 327 user | 316 critic | 43 from Metacritic.com

When Wolverine is summoned to Japan by an old acquaintance, he is embroiled in a conflict that forces him to confront his own demons.

Director:

James Mangold

Writers:

Mark Bomback (screenplay), Scott Frank (screenplay)

Stars:

Hugh Jackman, Will Yun Lee, Tao Okamoto | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

In case you don’t read my blog regularly, I will go to almost any movie that is based on a comic book. To be honest I gave up on comics years ago but digital comics (and Walking Dead) got me back in Smile. Hugh Jackman has always done a great job as Wolverine and I certainly wanted to see him in this after the disaster that was X-Men Origins: Wolverine.

Main Points:

The story of Wolverine in Japan is not one I read before, so while I had some idea of a couple of details, I didn’t know most of the plot of the film (which is certainly a good thing Hot smile).

The story was good (if a little predictable at times) and the action and special effects top notch. Hugh Jackman was having fun in this movie I thought and as consequence I had fun watching him do his stuff.

Wolverine is about a serious/tragic character and gruff/amusing. He strode that line very well here. While there are some intense moments I don’t think I’m spoiling anything when I say Wolverine doesn’t die, that is not a bad thing of course, just a common occurrence with important characters.

Final Points:

If you’re an X-Men/Wolverine/Hugh Jackman fan I would certainly recommend you see this. It has everything that was missing from the first Wolverine movie, just not the kind of movie that will win any Oscars. A 7/10 from me, it could have been better but it sure was fun Hot smile Until next time, I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

