Movie Review: The Place Beyond the Pines

Details from IMDB:

Pines

 

The Place Beyond the Pines (2012)

140 min  -  Crime | Drama  -  19 April 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 7.5/10 from 62,526 users   Metascore: 68/100
Reviews: 218 user | 317 critic | 42 from Metacritic.com

A motorcycle stunt rider turns to robbing banks as a way to provide for his lover and their newborn child, a decision that puts him on a collision course with an ambitious rookie cop navigating a department ruled by a corrupt detective.

Director:

Derek Cianfrance

Writers:

Derek Cianfrance (story), Ben Coccio (story), 3 more credits »

Stars:

Ryan Gosling, Craig Van Hook, Eva Mendes | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

I had heard good things about this movie and I certainly like the actors in it, so a few weeks ago my family and I watched it.

Main Points:

This is an unusual movie but I really can’t say anything about it without…

SPOILER ALERT!

So only about 40 minutes into the movie Gosling’s character dies. It was a surprise, unfortunately not for the better. The changes three times, first about a stunt motorcycle driver (Gosling) who becomes a bank robber. Then about uncovering police corruption (Cooper of course) and finally about grown up sons (one of the dead driver) dealing with events of the past.

There were parts of the movie I liked and the acting for everyone involved was top notch. I think the problem was is that it was stretched out and for a lot of the movie you wait for something to happen, when it never really does. The atmosphere and soundtrack were wonderful as was the scenery.

Final Thoughts:

If you’re a fan of these actors I’d recommend it, just be prepared for a lot of time where little happens. The movie does make you think about the difference between criminals and cops and the law. It also poses some intriguing moral situations where I wondered how I’d respond. So overall I give this 7/10 and usual the caveat not to watch it with children. Until next time, (another movie review I suspect Smile) I am, as always,

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

