Movie Review: Pacific Rim

Details from IMDB:

PacificRim

 

Pacific Rim (2013)

131 min  -  Action | Adventure | Fantasy  -  12 July 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 7.7/10 from 71,376 users   Metascore: 64/100
Reviews: 541 user | 380 critic | 48 from Metacritic.com

As a war between humankind and monstrous sea creatures wages on, a former pilot and a trainee are paired up to drive a seemingly obsolete special weapon in a desperate effort to save the world from the apocalypse.

Director:

Guillermo del Toro

Writers:

Travis Beacham (screenplay), Guillermo del Toro (screenplay), 1 more credit »

Stars:

Charlie Hunnam, Idris Elba, Rinko Kikuchi | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Robots versus monsters, to be more precise giant robots versus giant monsters, this sounded like a cool idea. After some time I finally got a chance to see this movie. I like Guillermo del Toro and several of the actors (Ron Pearlman, Charlie Day and Charlie Hunnam in particular) plus it looked like fun Smile

Main Points:

This movie plays a lot of attention to detail (for scenery) the robots look beaten up, used, worn as does the machinery that assembles and repairs them. The idea of a drift (people link together mentally) was a cool one. The special effects were excellent and there was some great action scenes. Charlie Hunnam does a good job as does Ron Pearlman in a small (but amusing) role.

I do have concerns and issues though. The plot is predictable (for the most part) and I thought the trailers give far too much away. The other major problem I had (and maybe this was just my theatre) for several parts in the movie the 3D looked blurry! Paying extra for IMAX this should not happen Sad smile.

Final Thoughts:

Maybe my expectations were too high but I was disappointed. The movie drags (which is a problem for an action flick) in a few spots. There is also a line about analog versus digital which makes no sense (watch for it). With all that said I still enjoyed it, I just considered it a warm-up for Godzilla. 7/10 from me with a mild recommendation. Don’t pay for the IMAX and don’t take children Thumbs up. Until next time (and the next 4 will be movie reviews most likely, I’m behind), I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

2 Comments

  1. I saw previews for this one. I’m skeptical. Might check it out on DVD. Great review!

    • Hi Tasha 🙂

      Thanks for the comment and the compliment 🙂 I had fun watching Pacific Rim, just not as much as I hoped for. Wolverine was really good (my review of that one is coming). I try to write reviews that people will enjoy and find useful, glad to hear its working =) talk to you soon!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

