Author Interview: Scott Bartlett

Hi all Smile As promised (sort of) here’s something different. My interview with fellow Newfoundland author Scott Bartlett!

Scott2

1. What’s your name (pen if you prefer) and what are you here to promote?

I’m Scott Bartlett, and I suppose I’ll be tickled pink if folks dropped $2.99 on my medieval comedy novel Royal Flush.

Cover 8.5 x 5.5

2. Is this your first book or have you been writing for a while?

It’s the second book I’ve written, but the first that I’ve published. I’ve been writing fiction since I was 15. I’m currently working on my fourth novel.

3. Is this book part of a series?

Sort of. It’s referenced in my upcoming novel, Taking Stock, though the genres couldn’t be more different. I am also planning a direct sequel.

Follow-up: Taking Stock is going to be hilarious. I’ve heard a passage and quite enjoyed it Smile

4. Tell me a little about the book, what genre, short summary, that kind of thing, also what age group is it meant for?

I normally term the novel medieval comedy. The main character is named the King—that’s his only name. He’s very incompetent, and not very good at being King. He’s also looking for a girlfriend, and he’s not very good at that either. I intended the novel for adults, though when parents ask I tell them it’s appropriate for age 12 and up.

5. How about a little bit about you? (or a lot if you prefer) What makes you tick? What turn’s you on? 😉

I spend most of my time writing or working on getting my writing out there. I’m also a big reader and gamer, though, and I’m into physical fitness, too. I love trying new workouts–I recently started one my friend designed for me.

6. What is the trait you value most in others?

A willingness to be accepting of any lifestyle that causes no harm.

7. If you could have two superpowers what would they be and why?

The first would be to stop time, hands down. That’s been my stock answer for years. If you could do that, you’d be invincible as long as you saw threats coming. Someone has a gun pointed at your head? Simply stop time, and relieve them of the weapon. It’s useful for more mundane stuff, too. If you’ve procrastinated a paper till the last minute, just stop time for two weeks! Take naps. Spend whole days playing video games. Finally get around to it the last day of the two weeks. And if you still can’t finish, just stop time again.

As for super power number two…I dunno. Fly, maybe?

8. Marvel or DC?

I’m no comic book hero connoisseur, but Spiderman’s my favourite, so I’m saying Marvel.

9. Favourite TV show?

It’s a tossup between Community and Deadwood.

Follow-up: Deadwood is an amazing show. I’ve only ever seen one episode of Community, so I really can’t pass judgement on it.

10. Have you always been interested in writing?

From the womb to the tomb! Ha ha, not actually. I guess I’ve been at least tangentially interested in it since I learned to read. In grade school I used to draw stick-figure comics—filled binders and binders with them. Now, my writing’s greatest strength is dialogue, and I attribute that to those comics. But my interest in fiction writing was born in ninth grade.

11. What do you think is the best part about being a writer?

It’s a tie, for me, between that feeling you get when you know you’re kicking ass on the page, and hearing that someone enjoyed something you wrote.

12. What’s the worst part of writing?

Putting off projects because you’re afraid of screwing them up. But I’ve worked on steadily minimizing that fear over the years.

13. Do you think the future is in Ebooks? Or will print make a comeback?

I don’t think print needs to make a comeback, yet! The majority of books sold are still print books. As for which one will dominate in the future, I’m not sure. There’s a lot of room for growth in the eBook market, and that’s certainly what it’s doing. My personal preference, however, is print.

Follow-up: While I don’t think print will disappear anytime soon, I have to disagree with you here. Ebooks are already beating the pants of print sales-wise (in several countries). Here’s an article about it. I do agree that the feel of a print book is still my preference. For comic books I’ve changed though, I really enjoy the digital ones.

14. Do you like your job?

Considering that I’m currently writing full-time, yes, I love it!

Follow-up: Nice! Open-mouthed smile I’d love to write full-time, maybe someday.

15. If you could have a different career/job what would it be?

I truly have no clue. This is the only thing I’ve ever had enough interest in to make a career of.

16. What are you reading right now?

Little Brother by Cory Doctorow—I’m rereading it as part of a dystopia kick I’m on to prepare for writing a dystopia of my own! That’s my next project—to be titled Air Earth.

17. What was the last movie you saw?

I watched Shaun of the Dead last night, having never seen it before. I recently saw Hot Fuzz for the first time, too (also starring Simon Pegg), and I found that a better movie. Although, I appreciate the commentary on consumer culture in the former.

Follow-up: Simon Pegg is always funny. I agree they are two good ones.

18. What was the last book you really loved?

Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood (also part of my dystopia kick). She deftly weaves the dystopian elements into a backdrop for the main character, Jimmy, who she portrays brilliantly. I really bought that I was inhabiting the brain of this womanizing young man: Atwood nails the lingo, the mentality–everything.

19. Have you ever met someone you only talked to online before?

Not that I can recall.

20. Do you go to Sci-Fi/Fantasy or any other kinds of conventions?

Sci Fi on the Rock is the only one I’ve been to—but I’ve had a blast both times I’ve gone.

Follow-up: Have to correct you here Scott. I know you went to Atlanti-Con as well, as I was there with you Hot smile

21. Do you ever read comic books/graphic novels?

Occasionally, but not very often.

22. How do you feel about promotion? Any tips for other writers?

I feel promotion is necessary for writers in order to get noticed in the increasingly competitive pool of books out there. I recently took a 12-week marketing course with Rivka Kawano of New Media Design Studious, and found it incredibly helpful. Perhaps writers could check that out!

23. Favourite author?

Tough call. Toss up between Douglas Adams and Kurt Vonnegut and Dave Eggers and Stephen King and Chuck Palahniuk.

24. Favourite person (living or dead)?

If I had a girlfriend currently I’d insert her name here.

Follow-up: I like that, very unique (and pointed) answer.

25. Would you consider yourself religious?

Nah. I’m agnostic, which I enjoy for the multitude of explanations for the universe that it allows me to entertain.

Follow-up: Agnostics do rule Winking smile

26. What do you think is the biggest problem in the world today?

Global warming. It seems to be getting pretty dire.

27. If you had all the money you ever wanted, what would you do?

Invest in renewable energy and the local economy.

28. What’s the secret to happiness?

Cultivate friendships and passion—both for that special someone(s) and for your dream.

Thanks for taking the time to talk with me, best of luck with your book and hey I’m a writer too. E-mail me anytime if you want to chat TheNLVampire@gmail.com thanks again! Vampire bat

1 Comment

  1. Oops, I forgot all about Atlanti-con!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

