Movie Review: Religulous

Details from IMDB:

Religious

Religulous (2008)

101 min  -  Documentary | Comedy  -  3 October 2008 (USA)

Ratings: 7.7/10 from 40,087 users   Metascore: 56/100
Reviews: 315 user | 185 critic | 31 from Metacritic.com

Bill Maher’s take on the current state of world religion.

Director:

Larry Charles

Stars:

Bill Maher, Tal Bachman, Jonathan Boulden | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

I’m not a religious guy, in fact I’d consider myself Agnostic. I have no faith in any kind of organized religion and while I find the idea of a spiritual being interesting, I’ve never experienced anything to convince me of that for sure. I am a fan of Bill Maher and I do find the study and discussion of religion enjoyable, so I finally watched this documentary.

Main Points:

Maher spends this film basically showing but how ridiculous (the creationist park that showed people playing with dinosaurs was so bizarre, and funny Smile) and scary most organized religions are.

What I really liked about it though is that it’s not just him asking questions and ranting, he gets scientists (one religious, one not) and even a Vatican priest who is very sceptical.

He also managed to catch televangelists, Priests, ministers and a senator in either lies or statements that just make no sense. I am in total agreement with him that to have blind faith and believing you actually here voices is a recipe for disaster.

Final Thoughts:

Love him or hate him Bill Maher is an intelligent guy that knows how to shake things up. I love during the film how he almost constantly gets in trouble and is either asked to leave or is almost thrown out of many places. The fact that a Muslim believed that he shouldn’t be in a temple because he was as shitty comedian was another point I like Open-mouthed smile. Judging those two things as being relevant makes about as much sense as taking a 3500 year old text as literal truth and trying to apply science to it.

If you’re a sceptic (or at least open minded) or even if you’re just a Bill Maher fan I’d recommend this documentary. It’s ultimately depressing and rather preachy (in a non-religious way) but still an important film. 8/10 from me and a hearty recommendation Thumbs up (just obviously not for children). Until next time (which will be an interview for a change Hot smile) I am, as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

