Movie Review: Cabin in the Woods

CabininTheWoods

 

Details from IMDB:

 

The Cabin in the Woods (2012)

95 min  -  Horror | Mystery | Thriller  -  13 April 2012 (USA)

Ratings: 7.1/10 from 160,691 users   Metascore: 72/100
Reviews: 823 user | 547 critic | 40 from Metacritic.com

Five friends go for a break at a remote cabin in the woods, where they get more than they bargained for. Together, they must discover the truth behind the cabin in the woods.

Director:

Drew Goddard

Writers:

Joss Whedon, Drew Goddard

Stars:

Kristen Connolly, Chris Hemsworth, Anna Hutchison | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

I’m a big Joss Whedon fan (of most everything he does) people who’ve read my blog know this but I’ll point it out for any newcomers Smile With that said sometimes it takes me a while to get around to seeing a particular movie, in this case over 2 years but finally last night I saw this and here’s my thoughts.

Main Points:

As usual no plot summary, I’ll just say it takes horror conventions, lives up to them and then turns (most of them) of their ear. I thought everyone put in great performances and the special effects were top notch. What I really enjoyed about this movie was it was a lot of fun and it surprised me. Joss always has great dialogue and comedic timing, for a horror/thriller there are a surprising number of funny parts as well.

Final Thoughts:

If you’re a Whedon fan this is a must see. It’s not perfect by any means, I found it a little high on the gore factor. There is one part of the movie that emphasis the sheer amount of blood in a corridor several times and I would have liked a little more explanation on a few points. Overall I give this an 8/10 and a big recommendation Thumbs up (just not for children or become who don’t like horror). Until next time (no promises, who knows what it will be Winking smile) I am, as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

