Movie Review: Halo 4: Forward Onto Dawn

Details from IMDB:

Halo4ForwardOntoDawn

Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn (2012– )

TV Series  -  14+  -  Action | Sci-Fi | Thriller

Ratings: 6.9/10 from 11,280 users
Reviews: 54 user | 13 critic

UNSC Cadet Thomas Lasky must conquer his inner fears and join forces with super-soldier John-117 to take down a massive faction of the Covenant.

Stars:

Tom Green, Anna Popplewell, Enisha Brewster | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

I’m a fan of the Halo video games, or at least I used to be. Truth be told I never played Halo: Reach or Halo: 4 as I’ve just become an app video game player but I’m off topic already. I have Netflix (and forgot to cancel the free month) and I noticed this was there, so I watched it.

Main Points:

The acting was fine in this and I liked how they slowly built up the Halo references throughout the movie. The special effects were good and the story is decent. Since he’s on the poster I don’t think a spoiler alert is needed here.

The best part of the movie for me was when the school is invaded and the Master Chief shows up. He always makes the game for me (which is why I didn’t enjoy ODST much at all). The Master Chief kicks ass, helps out his human friends and never takes off his helmet, just the way he’s supposed to Smile.

Final Thoughts:

The movie is clearly a tie-in/promotion for Halo 4 but that didn’t detract from the movie. If you’re a fan of the game and don’t mind a little violence (the Covenant look cool here, especially the vibro sword Open-mouthed smile) I would give this a mild recommendation Thumbs up. There’s nothing I didn’t like about the movie, there’s just not much to it, so 6/10. Have a great day everyone, until next time I am, as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

