Movie Review: Star Trek Into Darkness

Details from IMDB:

StarTrekIntoDarkness

Star Trek Into Darkness (2013)

132 min  -  Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi  -  16 May 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 8.3/10 from 57,709 users   Metascore: 72/100
Reviews: 498 user | 296 critic | 42 from Metacritic.com

After the crew of the Enterprise find an unstoppable force of terror from within their own organization, Captain Kirk leads a manhunt to a war-zone world to capture a one man weapon of mass destruction.

Director:

J.J. Abrams

Writers:

Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman, 2 more credits »

Stars:

Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Zoe Saldana | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Anyone who’s read this blog (or knows me) knows that I’m a big Star Trek fan (used to be huge/obsessive/crazy but I got better Winking smile). So this is J.J. Abrams second foray into the new timeline he created with Star Trek (2009) and it’s a really good one Smile. I also spent the extra $ to see this in IMAX 3D and while not all the action/special effects shots jump out at you, there are enough to make it worth the price.

Main Points:

As usual no plot summary and I’m not going to list all the actors, they all do a great job especially Benedict Cumberbatch and Peter Weller does his best performance in years (I thought). It’s hard to talk about this movie without…

SPOILER ALERT!

Ok there you go. So this is Abrams version of Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, which isn’t a bad thing Alien I had heard something about Khan being in it but fortunately I forgot about it and I was surprised. Khan is a lot more threatening here than he ever was in TOS and his action scenes are way better. Everything you want with Star Trek is here from the humour, Kirk’s female hijinks, Spock’s…well his Spockness for lack of a better word, Scotty’s humour and reliability, you get the idea Hot smile.

We get to see the Klingons here in the new timeline and they are excellent! Cool helmets, a redesigned Bird of Prey and facial piercings, I’m in Open-mouthed smile. Admiral Marcus is a creepy/evil Starfleet character and of course Dr. Carol Marcus (played by Alice Eve, who is Kirk’s future wife, at least in the original timeline) is HOT (what I’m a guy, am I not going to mention it? Winking smile). Excellent special effects, a good story, plenty of action, there’s lots to enjoy here.

With that said, however, there are some issues:

So for all the goodness there is a problem with this homage to Khan, stuff that you know will happen. While J.J. does flip things (Spock yells “Khan!” and Kirk sacrifices himself to save the ship) this made the movie rather predictable in spots.  

As much I love Leonard Nimoy his cameo here really isn’t very good, his makeup looks wrong and it just doesn’t add anything to the story. (If you want to see him in a something really good watch this) Also putting in a tribble, while amusing, did seem a little forced and tacked on.

Final Thoughts:

I just wonder why did J.J. create a different universe only to play such a large homage to Star Trek II? Maybe he just wanted to get it out of his system so the third one can really let loose. This movie made me laugh, got me excited and made me already anticipate the next movie. I highly recommend it to any Star Trek fan (not young children though) Thumbs up.  I give it 7.5/10 and would say that while I enjoyed J.J.’s first Star Trek a little more, this one certainly is a worthy successor and will hopefully through it’s success possibly bring Star Trek back to TV. Until next time (won’t make any promises, you’ll have to wait and see) I am, as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

2 Comments

  1. Great review, Charles. I LOVED the first movie, looking forward to seeing the rest!

    • Hi Pat 🙂 thanks! We saw the Hangover III tonight, it was ok. A fitting end to the series. You’re going to really enjoy Star Trek =) have a great weekend and I’ll talk to you soon 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

