Movie Review: Comic-Con Episode IV: A Fan’s Hope

Details from IMDB:

ComicCon

Comic-Con Episode IV: A Fan’s Hope (2011)

88 min  -  Documentary  -  23 November 2012 (Poland)

Ratings: 7.1/10 from 1,394 users   Metascore: 64/100
Reviews: 14 user | 48 critic | 21 from Metacritic.com

A behind-the-scenes look at the fans who gather by the thousands each year in San Diego, California to attend Comic-Con, the world’s largest comic book convention.

Director:

Morgan Spurlock

Writers:

Jeremy Chilnick, Morgan Spurlock, 1 more credit »

Stars:

Seth Rogen, Eli Roth, Kevin Smith | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

I’ve never been to Comic-Con but like any Geek (and comic book fan) I’ve heard lots about it and I’m a fan of Morgan Spurlock, so when I found this documentary I was eager to watch it.

Main Points:

The film focuses on fans who enjoy different aspects of the Con along with the owner of a large Comic Book warehouse and of course plenty of interview with Geeky celebrities (both involved in Comic Books and not).

Seth Green, Kevin Smith, Eli Roth and Joss Whedon all seem like cool guys (at least from my perspective Winking smile) Stan “The Man” Lee also must be admired for continuing to care about fans and take time to visit large conventions such as this.

The fans range from regular people I could relate with to much more extreme people that I’ll admit I used to be when I was younger (and a lot more single! Smile). I just don’t have the energy or patience to line up for anything for 8 or 9 hours anymore (in truth I only ever really did that once and that was for a parking pass!).

I am a fan of costumes and I enjoyed seeing the incredible ones featured in this documentary (and the huge amount of time and effort to make them). No spoiler alert needed here, it’s real life after all Open-mouthed smile.

Final Thoughts:

This is was an enjoyable documentary for the most part. The couple who get engaged were a little annoying I thought. If you’re a Geek/comic book fan this is certainly worth a look. It’s nothing ground breaking and doesn’t get deep enough into the history of conventions or comic books for my liking but still a solid 7/10 and a recommendation from me Thumbs up Until next time (which is my review of Star Trek Into Darkness) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

