Movie Review: Iron Man 3

Iron Man 3 (2013)

IronMan3

130 min  -  Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi  -  3 May 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 7.8/10 from 97,187 users   Metascore: 62/100
Reviews: 616 user | 349 critic | 43 from Metacritic.com

When Tony Stark’s world is torn apart by a formidable terrorist called the Mandarin, he starts an odyssey of rebuilding and retribution.

Director:

Shane Black

Writers:

Drew Pearce (screenplay), Shane Black (screenplay), 4 more credits »

Stars:

Robert Downey Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Don Cheadle | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Everyone knows now I’m a big comic book fan and while I’ve only ever read a scattered Iron Man comic I have come to enjoy the movies, so of course I went see this one. Also it is worth mentioning that I’ve always thought Robert Downey Jr. is an excellent actor and of course was a perfect choice for Iron Man.

Main Points:

There’s no arguing with this movies success, it’s on track to beat Avengers and become the highest grossing movie of all-time! Smile And the plot is solid so I’ll talk about the good and a little about a few minor problems.

The good: Oh since I’m talking about a couple of surprises I’ll do…

SPOILER ALERT!

So while I think the trailers review a little too much of movie there were some surprises left. Pepper gets to wear the suit! And she kicks some serious ass, I really enjoyed that Open-mouthed smile and I think Gwyneth Paltrow was excellent in here as always. The other big twist (well kind of big Winking smile) is that Ben Kingsley’s the Mandarin is really just an actor here named “Trevor” Hot smile. That was funny and a nice surprise. (Kingsley was excellent as always).

I really liked how Tony Stark is not well after the events of the Avengers. He is, after all, a semi-regular guy. Not a solider and a makes sense he would be suffering from some kind of PTSD disorder (not that soldiers don’t get it, I’m just making a point here). There was also plenty of humour and of course it’s always nice to see a hero start back from scratch (sort of) and make his way back to the top.

The Bad:

Not a lot (don’t worry I’m no the nit-picky comic book kind of guy) but a few things for me. I thought all the talky parts with Harley kind of made the movie drag a little. I would have cut maybe 5-10 minutes there. Also as I said I think the preview ruined the movie a little for me. Also when Pepper falls into the fire I knew she wasn’t dead (she had been injected with the serum and of course they can’t kill Pepper Thinking smile). Also I was hoping for a little hint at Guardians of the Galaxy. While I quite enjoyed the final scene (after the credits make sure you stay!) with Bruce Banner it was still something of a letdown.

Also I felt the 3D version (which of course costs extra) did nothing for me the movie, so I’d recommend just regular 2D (I was told the same about IMAX).

Final Thoughts:

I highly recommend this movie Thumbs up. While it may not be appropriate for small children, certainly its fine for age 13+. I really hope that there is an Iron Man 4 and of course they’ll be more Tony in Avengers 2. In terms of the series I would say I enjoyed it more than 2 but not as much as 1. I figure this is my blog and I’m changing the rules. For the first time I give this 7.5/10 Vampire bat. Check this out and soon! Star Trek is only a little over a week away Alien. Until next time I am, as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

2 Comments

  1. Nice review Charles. A lot of fans are definitely going to be disappointed with the ending of this film too and what this means for the Marvel film franchise. Who knows what could happen with them all now.

    • Hi there 🙂

      Thanks for the comment and the compliment! =) I do my best to do a review that I think people will enjoy reading. It means a different Iron Man for sure and this movie is the start of Marvel phase 2. So we will be seeing some different stuff, I certainly never thought I’d see a “Guardians of the Galaxy” movie but next year it will happen! 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

