Movie Review: Batman Under the Red Hood

Details from IMDB:

 

RedHood

 

Batman: Under the Red Hood (Video 2010)

75 min  -  Animation | Action | Crime  -  27 July 2010 (USA)

Ratings: 7.8/10 from 14,703 users
Reviews: 69 user | 51 critic

There’s a mystery afoot in Gotham City, and Batman must go toe-to-toe with a mysterious vigilante, who goes by the name of Red Hood. Subsequently, old wounds reopen and old, once buried memories come into the light.

Director:

Brandon Vietti

Writers:

Judd Winick, Bob Kane

Stars:

Bruce Greenwood, Jensen Ackles, John DiMaggio | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

If you’ve been reading my reviews you know I love Batman, so I won’t dwell on it here. This movie was on Teletoon last week so of course I watched it Smile.

Main Points:

I knew about how the…ok I guess I should already do…

SPOILER ALERT!

The movie starts with Joker killing Robin (Jason Todd) and this was something I knew about. I also knew how is is brought back by the Lazrus pit, so for me this movie wasn’t about surprises, that didn’t take away any of my enjoyment though Hot smile.

In terms of voice work, it was just okay. Neil Patrick Harris, who I like, does a good job with Nightwing but I didn’t know it was him until after I read the credits. For the Joker I knew the voice sounded familar, once again it was only after I looked in the credits did I see it was John DiMaggio (who does the voice of Bender from Futurama). He also did a good job thought it is strange now as I know his voice so much as Bender.

The story was very good and I didn’t know all the details as I had not red the comics. I have always found Nightwing to be an annoying character and well…at least he doesn’t play a large part here Winking smile. I always enjoy seeing Ra’s Al Ghul and I liked how he refers to Batman as simply “the detective”. Bruce discovers the Red Hood’s secret (that it’s Jason Todd returned from the dead) and is more determined to stop him and help him return to his good nature.

The animation is good but ultimately it’s the story that I enjoyed the most. Bruce struggles with his past (how mistakes he made lead to Jason’s death, along with more pleasant memories with Jason and their escapades). The story has a lot of darkness and moral questions for Bruce. The Red mask (Jason Todd) blames Bruce not for his death but for not avenging him. He wants to kill the criminals of Gotham and of course get revenge on the Joker. Batman will not compromise his morals and ultimately stops Jason in a showdown with the Joker looking on.Vampire bat

Final Thoughts:

The action scenes were quite good and I enjoyed the story. As I’ve said Robin has never been one of my favourite characters (with one or two incarnations that were exceptions) and neither is Nightwing. I think voice actors that were more recognizable would have made the movie better and as I’ve never even read the comics I didn’t have the anticipation I did with Year One and The Dark Knight Returns. So while I enjoyed this movie and would recommend it Thumbs up I can only give it 7/10. Next post will be my thoughts on the biggest convention ever here in NL (Sci-Fi on the Rock) so until then I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

