Movie Review: Star Trek (2009)

Details from IMDB:

StarTrek

Star Trek (2009)

127 min  -  Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi  -  8 May 2009 (USA)

Ratings: 8.0/10 from 296,172 users   Metascore: 83/100
Reviews: 1,433 user | 467 critic | 37 from Metacritic.com

The brash James T. Kirk tries to live up to his father’s legacy with Mr. Spock keeping him in check as a vengeful, time-traveling Romulan creates black holes to destroy the Federation one planet at a time.

Director:

J.J. Abrams

Writers:

Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman, 1 more credit »

Stars:

Chris Pine, Zachary Quinto, Leonard Nimoy | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Yes I know this movie came out 4 years ago but back then I didn’t have a blog, also since part 2 (Star Trek Into Darkness) will be out next month I thought it was high time to post my review of this movie. First I’m a huge Trekker (or Trekkie if you prefer), I was once president of the Star Trek club at University, I even have a Star Trek tattoo. So obviously this is a film I’ve seen many times and just recently re-watched.

Main Points:

Star Trek from Enterprise (the show) until Nemesis had gone steadily downhill, before this movie I was worried if there would ever be another movie or TV show again. J.J. Abrams and Damon Lindelof, IMHO, saved Star Trek. Having a new timeline, new actors but the same characters I have grown to love was a brilliant move and made for a great movie.

I should say here that I also thought the acting was excellent by everyone, Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto have done a great job filling the large shoes of Kirk and Spock. It was wonderful to see Leonard Nimoy both pass the torch and take one more turn at Spock and Chris Helmsworth (who played Thor shortly after this movie) is also good as Kirk’s father George.Smile

The movie has everything as Star Trek fan could want, plenty of action, humour, several nods to the original series, a few good surprises and even the old red-shirt joke (in this movie he even tries to die! Winking smile).

One of my only complaints would be Eric Bana as Nero, there’s just something about his performance I don’t like (to be honest I think the actor has just taken too many crappy roles). Also I didn’t like Spock and Uhura dating, it’s just a little but off-putting me to. No spoiler alerts, if you want to know about the surprises you’re going to have to see it for yourself Hot smile.

Final Thoughts:

This move brought back my love of Star Trek (not the novels though, I read a bunch and the majority were mediocre to crappy) and it certainly made me look forward to the second one. A strong recommendation from me (once again not for small children) and a hearty 8/10. Any Star Trek fan has to see this and I think any sci-fi fan as well. Have a great week everyone, until next time (and yeah it’ll be a movie review Vampire bat) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

2 Comments

  1. Can’t wait to see the sequel, it looks very dark though…

    Pat

    • Hi Pat 🙂

      Thanks for the post, yeah it does look a little dark but that’s ok =) Star Trek does have a bunch of happy/silly movies so I don’t mind a dark one sometimes. Lots of movies to be excited about this summer/fall 🙂 Also thanks for the mention on twitter, talk to you soon 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

