Movie Review: G.I. Joe: Retaliation

Details from IMDB:

GIJOE2

G.I. Joe: Retaliation (2013)

110 min  -  Action | Adventure | Sci-Fi  -  28 March 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 6.7/10 from 10,439 users   Metascore: 42/100
Reviews: 38 user | 65 critic | 25 from Metacritic.com

The G.I. Joes are not only fighting their mortal enemy Cobra; they are forced to contend with threats from within the government that jeopardize their very existence.

Director:

Jon M. Chu

Writers:

Rhett Reese, Paul Wernick

Stars:

Dwayne Johnson, D.J. Cotrona, Channing Tatum | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

I knew going in this wasn’t going to be a stellar movie. I saw the first one and I’ll freely admit we are on vacation and there wasn’t much else in theatre. Plus Wednesday’s at Cinema World here in Grant, FL has free popcorn and there was no way I was turning that down Smile. (They also show Walking Dead for free Sunday nights which RULES! Open-mouthed smile)

Main Points:

There’s not a lot of good things I can say about this movie. Channing Tatum (Duke) is fine for the part he has as is Dwayne Johnson (Roadblock). There are a few funny parts and I thought Cobra Commander did have a cool costume as did Storm Shadow and Snake Eyes (which were the same from the last movie but I still liked them). Really when you have a movie based on toys and a cartoon show? I felt bad for Bruce Willis, he tries but it’s such a silly movie there’s nothing much he can do to rise above it.

There were a few decent actions scenes and the 3D looks ok (not worth the extra ticket price though). A major problem with the movie is that the action scenes happen so fast and with so much cutting back and forth you can hardly even tell what’s going on. Also having Storm Shadow and Snake Eyes can MANY people with swords and never showing even a drop of blood is just stupid.

I will say that Adrainne Palicki (Jaye) is incredibly hot here and holds her own with the cast.

SPOILER ALERT!

I treat all movies equally and in case you care Duke (Tatum) is killed in the movie. I was a little surprised by this and the fact that Destro (previously played by Christopher Eccleston is not in this).

Final Thoughts:

If you were a big fan of the first film or of the toys I supposed I would recommend this. It’s about the same as the first one, so a 6/10 from me Annoyed. There’s something better you could see in the theatre I’m sure, oh when I saw in the 3D the new Wolverine trailer was not shown as I thought it would be. Until next time (and yes it’s a movie review Hot smile) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

