Movie Review: Lawless

Details from IMDB:

Lawless

Lawless (2012)

116 min  -  Crime | Drama  -  29 August 2012 (USA)

Ratings: 7.3/10 from 76,011 users   Metascore: 58/100
Reviews: 214 user | 293 critic | 38 from Metacritic.com

Set in Depression-era Franklin County, Virginia, a bootlegging gang is threatened by a new deputy and other authorities who want a cut of their profits.

Director:

John Hillcoat

Writers:

Nick Cave (screenplay), Matt Bondurant (novel)

Stars:

Tom Hardy, Shia LaBeouf, Guy Pearce | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

As you may have noticed I’m watching a lot of movies lately. It’s what I do when we’re on vacation Smile. So last night we saw this one. I had heard some good things about it and I do like Tom Hardy, Guy Pearce  Jessica Chastain and of course Gary Oldman.

Main Points:

Depression era booze smuggling/gangster movies have been popular lately, no doubt due to shows like Boardwalk Empire. I should say first off I don’t like Shia LaBeouf, he is fine in this movie but I really don’t like him in most roles he takes (this could be mainly due to the travesty that is the Transformers movies).

Gary Oldman is good here (as always) but his talents are wasted I felt on a very small part. Chastain also takes a good part but really has quite a small role. The movie does have a couple of surprises but thing mostly happen as you suspect.  Guy Pearce is only standout here as his character Charlie Rakes is genuinely creepy and evil.

I enjoyed the fact that it was based on a true story and Shia’s character Jack does show some change and emotions (I can give credit when it’s due Hot smile).

Final Thoughts:

I would recommend this movie, once again don’t pay a lot for it and certainly don’t watch it with kids around. 7/10 from me Thumbs up. In case you’re wondering I have been reading old Batman comics (not really that old, from the 90s) but I suspect my next post will be another movie review.Open-mouthed smile Until next time I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

