Movie Review: Silver Linings Playbook

Details from IMDB:

 

MV5BMTM2MTI5NzA3MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwODExNTc0OA@@._V1_SX214_

 

Silver Linings Playbook (2012)

122 min  -  Comedy | Drama | Romance  -  25 December 2012 (USA)

Ratings: 8.0/10 from 135,125 users   Metascore: 81/100
Reviews: 380 user | 389 critic | 45 from Metacritic.com

After a stint in a mental institution, former teacher Pat Solitano moves back in with his parents and tries to reconcile with his ex-wife. Things get more challenging when Pat meets Tiffany, a mysterious girl with problems of her own.

Director:

David O. Russell

Writers:

David O. Russell (screenplay), Matthew Quick (novel)

Stars:

Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

As you may have noticed I have a policy with movies (that I mostly follow Winking smile) if I like an actor or actress I am more inclined to see a film just because they’re in it. Such was the case here as I’m a fan of Jennifer Lawrence, Bradley Cooper and of course Robert De Niro (I can forgive him for this horrible Focker movies). With this much talent (and of course Lawrence’s win of Best Actress) this was a movie I had to see.

Main Points:

Jennifer Lawrence plays Tiffany and is outstanding, she just becomes the character so effortlessly and she plays at woman most guys would want to me (at least speaking for myself if I was single Smile) she’s smart, funny, athletic, sexy as hell, honest, straight forward, caring and just a little bit nutty. Okay the last part makes could be a bit of a problem but at least where Pat (played quite by Cooper) is concerned she is perfect.

Enough about the acting and characters though. As a literary guy (I am an author aside from doing English at University) I particularly enjoyed the discussions around two books I enjoyed, Hemmingway’s A Farewell to Arms and William Golding’s Lord of the Flies. Pat is mad because Hemmingway has a bleak ending, um hello? Every Hemmingway story is bleak, he was a depressed man who wanted to show the misery and suffering of human existence. That doesn’t make Hemmingway’s work any less brilliant, depressing yes but I disagree with him about it not being on a high school curriculum. Hemmingway is one of the great American writers of the 20th century and should be required reading for everyone! But I’m ranting so I’ll move on. I’ll certainly agree that Lord of the Flies is also depressing but still an excellent book that I also highly recommend. They were great scenes in the movie discussing them and I really enjoyed them Open-mouthed smile.

More importantly the film explores what it means to be sane, to be different and what’s it’s like to live in a small town. Pat and Tiffany often face ridicule not only from the townspeople but from their own family. Pat’s Dad (De Niro) is severely OCD in his own way and often has some very funny and entertaining scenes around his own superstitions and obsessions around sports and betting.

Even is excellent in this film, right down to the person who plays Pat psychiatrist who shows up at a Football game and ends up getting in a fight with bigots (Pat of course comes to his aide Hot smile). Without giving too much away it is ultimately an uplifting and positive movie that will make you think and feel good after you see it Thinking smile.

Final Thoughts:

I would highly recommend this movie, once again to adults Thumbs up Jennifer Lawrence proves she was certainly the best part of Hunger Games and Bradley Cooper shows himself to be the best part of the Hangover gang (at least for non-comedic acting). 8/10 from me, it’s got a few slow parts and it drags a tiny bit but overall a solid film. Until next time (and yes it will be movie review, this time one that came out this month! Vampire bat) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

