Movie Review: Flight

Details from IMDB:

Flight

Flight (I) (2012)

138 min  -  Drama  -  2 November 2012 (USA)

Ratings: 7.3/10 from 88,824 users   Metascore: 76/100
Reviews: 308 user | 359 critic | 40 from Metacritic.com

An airline pilot saves a flight from crashing, but an investigation into the malfunctions reveals something troubling.

Director:

Robert Zemeckis

Writer:

John Gatins

Stars:

Denzel Washington, Nadine Velazquez, Don Cheadle | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Okay it’s Denzel, he almost never is in a bad movie. He’s just such a great actor that I had to see this eventually. I had heard good things and being on vacation I’ve had lots of time to see movies Smile.

Main Points:

This movie does a great job with mixing together some very serious issues (drug addiction, alcoholism, death, religion, plane crashes and morality) with plenty of funny and just plain fun moments. Denzel is Whip Whitaker, ace airline pilot, party animal and raging alcoholic. This is primarily Denzel’s movie and he can carry it. He does an excellent job playing this deeply flawed but still redeemable character. Don Cheadle does a nice job in a small roll as the pilot’s union lawyer and John Goodman is hilarious (and quite good) as Whit’s drug-dealing friend Harling (I love the names in this movie! Open-mouthed smile).

The movie starts off fast-paced and while things slow down after the crash but the characters are so well done I was glued the whole time. Now that’s not to say the movie doesn’t have flaws but before I continue I guess its….

SPOILER ALERT!

So there are a couple of things that don’t make sense in the movie. I can’t believe a pilot could fly drunk consistently for 15 years and not get caught. Also during the fateful flight the co-pilot is obviously concerned about Whit’s physical state (and knows he is hung-over) but yet says nothing until after the crash? This didn’t make a lot of sense to me either.

Also the incredibly fast relationship with Nicole (Kelly Reily) is a little hard to believe. Overall though I quite enjoyed this movie and I especially like how it presented you with some hard moral choices. How far would you go to save your own skin? Would you tarnish someone else’s memory? Lie to your friends? In a court? These are the kinds of questions I don’t think most people could answer unless they were put in the situation.

Final Thoughts:

My hat is off to Denzel. He should win a second Oscar sometime soon. While this movie has flaws I would highly recommend it (once again it’s not for children) Thumbs up I give this a squeaky 8/10. Hot smile You will find some nagging errors but once you let them go and let Denzel do his magic, you’ll be a happy viewer. Until next time (and it may at least 4-5 days this time) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

4 Comments

  1. Saw this movie and agree on all points, Denzel did a great job. It was not a story I expected from the previews, as it did focus mainly on the addiction aspects and Denzel’s character’s social bankruptcy. Still he did a great job showing a flawed man teetering on a moral cliff.

    • Hi Pat 🙂 thanks for the comment. Yes I was pleasantly surprised too. I forgot to put in the comments about the ending, I thought it was very fitting. Wit finally has to stop lying and goes to prison. He finally takes responsibility for his actions. As you know I love morality tales, have a great weekend! 🙂

  2. Good review Charles. I liked it because of Washington ‘s amazing performance, and how it didn’t really present me with a story that was all that clear-cut in the first-place. You actually had to think about a lot here on what you consider right, and what you consider wrong.

    • Hi there 🙂 Thanks! I enjoy watching movies and doing reviews. I agree this movie was a surprise and I really liked the ending. His morality finally set itself right when he could just tell another lie. It was really interesting because he was a hero but he was still a drunk and obviously had been flying drunk illegally for years. Anyway thanks again for the comment, talk to you soon =)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

