Movie Review: Gangster Squad

GansterSquad

Details from IMDB:

Gangster Squad (2013)

113 min  -  Action | Crime | Drama  -  11 January 2013 (USA)

Ratings: 7.1/10 from 20,407 users   Metascore: 40/100
Reviews: 100 user | 256 critic | 37 from Metacritic.com

Los Angeles, 1949: A secret crew of police officers led by two determined sergeants work together in an effort to take down the ruthless mob king Mickey Cohen who runs the city.

Director:

Ruben Fleischer

Writers:

Will Beall, Paul Lieberman (book)

Stars:

Sean Penn, Ryan Gosling, Emma Stone | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Okay I’ll admit I was trying to see Django Unchained and it was sold out. (It’s been out over a month too!) So we ended up seeing this instead. I had heard mixed reviews but it had actors I liked and I do enjoy Mafia/crime movies (especially when based on true events) so we went in.

Main Points:

This is a part of L.A.’s history I didn’t know, the amount of gang activity and control of the city Mickey Cohen had in the late 1940’s. Most of the cast in this takes a good role and Emma Stone looks very hot and sexy here (I have a thing for redheads Smile).

I liked the attention to details like the way people spoke then. There is dialogue that goes something like this, “you fellas can bend your ears, while I go bend my elbow”. She’s talking about smoking (which apparently everyone did in the 40’s) and talking, something people don’t say anymore.

It was nice to see Robert Patrick in a film, he’s someone I’ve always liked but you don’t see very often. I think the problem with the movie is that it’s very predictable (okay there is 1 surprise but even that one you see coming) and Mickey Cohen (at least the way Penn plays him) is a rather dull villain. Ryan Gosling (whom I like) also plays a rather predictable character and seems to coast through most of this movie on charm and looks.

Final Thoughts:

The action scenes in the movie are top notch and the final showdown at the Park Plaza hotel was a blast to watch. For those reasons and some mentioned above I have this a mild recommendation and a 7/10 Thumbs up. There are better movies out there but if you’re in the mood for a gangster flick, this movie is worth a look.Open-mouthed smile Until next time (and yeah it will likely be another movie review) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

2 Comments

  1. Nice review. Good cast and story, however, the movie never really lives up to its full potential.

    • Hi there 🙂 thanks for the comment. Yeah I’m on agreement with you, it could have been better. Now “Django”! A masterpiece, I will post my review of it soon 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

