Movie Review: The Hobbit

Details from IMDB:

TheHobbit

The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012)

169 min  -  Adventure | Fantasy  -   14 December 2012 (Canada)

Ratings: 8.4/10 from 147,800 users   Metascore: 58/100
Reviews: 823 user | 373 critic | 40 from Metacritic.com

A younger and more reluctant Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins, sets out on a "unexpected journey" to the Lonely Mountain with a spirited group of Dwarves to reclaim a their stolen mountain home from a dragon named Smaug.

Director:

Peter Jackson

Writers:

Fran Walsh (screenplay), Philippa Boyens (screenplay), and 3 more credits »

Stars:

Martin Freeman, Ian McKellen and Richard Armitage | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Okay obviously I waited all of last year to see this movie, I am a huge fan of the book and a big J.R.R. Tolkien fan in general. So while I didn’t see this opening night I did pay almost $65 for my wife and I so see this in Imax (with snacks of course Smile).

Main Points:

Peter Jackson does it again Open-mouthed smile. I dearly loved the Lord of the Rings movies (with the Fellowship and Return of the King being the best of the two). This movie is not only extremely faithful to the book, it also brings in much more of the world as he brings in stories from the appendices of the Hobbit, parts of Unfinished Tales and even The Silmarillion (as far I know).

This gives the movie a lot more depth and brings to light stories I wasn’t aware of (I’ll admit to not having read those other two books).

The acting is top notch all around, especially shinning is Sir Ian McKellen and Martin Freeman (Gandalf and Bilbo respectively). The special effects are amazing, a wonderful soundtrack and of course a great story. What else could you ask for in a movie? Hot smile

SPOILER ALERT!

Again this is silly but I suppose I’m a creature of habit. Perhaps you didn’t know that Frodo (Elijah Wood) does make a small appearance as does Elrond, Gladariel, Saruman and a younger Bilbo played once again Ian Holm. The movie ends with a cave full of gold and a dragon waking from a long slumber.

Final Thoughts:

I can’t say the movie is perfect but for me it was damn close. You can drawn into the movie, swept up with the emotions of the characters and the majesty of the world. For me that is a sign of a great movie.

The only negative thing I can say is that there a lot of stuff with the goblins and just for a few minutes it felt a little dragged out. Overall though I give this movie 9/10 and a very big recommendation Thumbs up. This movie has violence, some blood and scenes that would be scary for small children. So if you have children please bear this in mind. Also if you’re a Star Trek fan you owe it to yourself to see in in Imax to see the preview for the new movie, this looks amazing! Vampire bat I’m going to do my best to see this again in the Higher Frame Rate I’ve heard so much about. Until next time (and it will be another movie review) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003