2012: My Year in Review (and FREE STUFF! :)

Hi Everyone Smile Well it’s the that time of year, to look back at the year past and forward to the future. Don’t worry this won’t be a long, philosophical musing on all the world events of 2012 and what we could do better, rather just some highlights from my life along with some picture (and something FREE at the end! Open-mouthed smile).

January:

Aside from doing some serious editing on my first novel (The Newfoundland Vampire of course!). This happened:

Yes that’s real. My wife’s old Santa Fe caught on fire one morning! (It had just been started). Way too much excitement for 5:45am let me tell you!. Luckily no one was hurt and since we live in the woods there was no damage to our house or any other property. I don’t remember the mechanical reason for it happening but obviously car was toast.

February:

Nothing of interest, I was busy editing my book (did I mention my editor Patricia Morrison at Penumbra? She is excellent and has a lot of patience. I’ll admit I can be a nuisance sometimes). I learned some valuable lessons about dialogue, plot structure and most importantly not getting personally invested in a story to the point that I was irrational about changing it, live and learn Thinking smile.

March:

Early in the month (and for all the rest of it) we went to my favourite vacation spot, sunny Florida! There were tons of pics so I’ll just share a couple of my favourites.

A convertible in Florida? All kinds of awesome! Hot smile

In case you didn’t know, I’m a huge Geek and a big kid at heart. Also, who doesn’t love Spidey? Smile

089

One of my favourite places in the world. Ernest Hemmingway’s house in Key West, Florida. The descendants of his cats (they have 6 toes on every paw) are still there.

April:

My book! After months of editing, 8 months of writing and about a year to find a publisher it finally came out Smile Obviously I was ecstatic and I tried my best to sell and promote it.

That was my appearance in the Evening Telegram. Thanks again to Tara Bradbury for doing a full page article on me, it was very much appreciated! Smile

Photo: My Mom also came down to see me and Joanne Pearcey took a picture :) Thanks to everyone who bought a copy! (and to Lisa M. Daly who also came downstairs to see me :-)

My Mom and I at Sci-Fi on the Rock, this was the first time I sold my book it public. Had a blast Smile

May-June-July-August:

I had a busy summer, here are some highlights.

Photo: The third annual Geek Fest is about to start. Big Red (and me) are ready, you? Have a great weekend all (and just enjoy the pic if you have no idea what I'm talking about)

Photo: Hi all :) Just wanted to let people in NL know (and in the St. John's area in particular) that my book is available at Costco. Here's proof! Have a great night everyone :-)
www.charlesokeefe.com

September-October-November

Summer came to an end but I kept up with my promotional and selling activities. Along with some more good times Smile

This was at another excellent convention, Atlanti-Con, held in Corner Brook, Newfoundland the end of the September Smile.

Several times this year I was lucky enough to work with a bunch of great people on Star Trek: Reliant, a fan-made (not for profit) Star Trek series filmed locally here in Newfoundland. Always a great time Smile

December:

While I was very busy at work, for most of the month I did have a great Christmas and just last night an excellent New Year’s Eve Smile.

 

SGMPic

This was my last chance to sell my book in person for the year. An excellent local market ran by a friend Laurie Legrow called “Some Good Market”.

Photo: Merry Christmas everyone :) listening to "Fairytale of New York" by the Pogues, of my favourite Xmas songs before we go out visiting :-) happy holidays all!

030

There were lots more fireworks, I need a better camera I find it extremely hard to get a good picture of them.

So you’ve made it to the end, I had a great year and as promised here’s the freebie, my book! For the rest of today it’s FREE on Amazon Kindle. If you haven’t read it yet, today’s a great day to get it! Smile Oh and once you finish it you can look forward to book 2, which will be out hopefully sometime this summer. Have a great New Year everyone. Until next time I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

