Merry Christmas all :) My gift and an interview

Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas and an early Happy New Year to everyone Smile. If you’re in the mood to read a geeky, original (I hope Winking smile) vampire story my book The Newfoundland Vampire is free today and tomorrow on Amazon.

Also here is an interview I did with Joseph from my book. Since Joseph is more or less it’s a funny/self-reflective kind of self-interview. I hope you enjoy it Vampire bat). I hope everyone is having a happy and peaceful holiday season. Here’s wishing you all the best in 2013.

The Newfoundland Vampire

Like every other geek alive, Newfoundland native Joseph O’Reily secretly wants to be a superhero. At thirteen he fantasized about being a vampire, and ten years later he’s still fantasizing – but mostly about a beautiful redheaded woman who has eyes only for him. The one thing different about Joseph’s adult fantasy is that, amazingly, it comes true one night when he goes to a local university pub. Cassandra Snow, literally the woman of his dreams, invites him to her place for an evening of personal pleasure. Of course he’s not going to say no. But when strange things start happening afterward, Joseph quickly learns that not all dreams should come true.

Published by Penumbra Publishing and written by Charles O’Keefe

*Skype sessions opens*

Cro:

I’m sitting here with Joseph O’Reily, vampire and main character of the book "The Newfoundland Vampire" written by yours truly. Joseph was kind enough to take time out of his busy schedule to talk with me and readers of this blog. Joseph, hello and a pleasure to meet you.

Joe:

Thanks for having me. Umm you know I’m a vampire and now you’re telling everyone? *looks from side to side and whispers* isn’t that kind of foolish?

Cro:

Well no not really, you’re an imaginary character that I made up and vampires aren’t real after all.

Joe:

Not real huh? *his eyes flash red for a full two full seconds* I beg to differ. What do you mean made up? I’m sitting here aren’t I? You’re just lucky I’m a vegetarian.

Cro:

*smiles* Yes I know me too. You are aware that I’m you and you’re me, correct?

Joe:

Well I suspected something along those lines but I’m the younger, more handsome and happier version of you. Have you seen my girlfriend? She is a total knockout. And you, married and an Inventory manager? What kind of shitty job is that? Who wants to settle down? Oh and by the way that comb over, really not working for you.

Cro:

Hey now! That was a low blow and yes I have seen her many times in my head, Cassandra is the woman of my dreams as well you know. I enjoy being married, you’re so young, time will change you, a woman will. Oh and everyone (at least us humans) has to work, bills have to be paid and I’ve made mistakes with my career I’ll grant but we’re way off track here. Tell me how your life has changed since you were turned, what have you learned?

Joe:

Yeah sorry about that, it’s easy to forget that everyone else will get old while I’ll be young forever. Good question, well I’ve learned a lot. First off women are mysterious creatures, vampire or human it doesn’t matter. Second, being a vampire isn’t easy aside form the need for blood I have to deal with others of our kind, at least one of them wanted to kill me and just the other day I meet a vampire on this council who commanded us to track down and kill another of our kind. My life has changed in oh so many ways..I couldn’t resist that’s from a Beatles song.

Cro:

Good one, I know, I love the Beatles as well, please continue.

Joe:

Oh yeah, I forget we’re so similar. Anyway while I’m still in touch with my friends and family I had to drop out of university with all the pressure being a vampire brought me, I had to cope with letting a woman die and while he got what he deserved I have to keep a certain criminal act a secret. As if all that wasn’t enough I have to keep quiet about the fact that I am a vampire and one day take on a new identity. It makes Dungeons and Dragons even more appealing than before. Speaking of, do you still play…at..um your age?

Cro:

My age? I’m only 36…sigh I remember being 23 and thinking anyone over 30 was old and yes I still play. Oh and by the way I do agree with you about my job, it’s boring as hell. Lots of regular people have dull jobs, I can’t wamboozle people out of their money and let my super-rich immortal girlfriend pick up the slack, I’ve got bills to pay.

Joe:

Sounds like someone’s got regrets and maybe needs to write another book. I can relate to the regret part though and just to be clear, I never ask for money, she offers and you know what they say never…

Cro:

…look a gift horse in the mouth I know. I do have one big advantage over you though.

Joe:

Oh yeah what’s that?

Cro:

I know what happens next for you. *evil grin*

Joe:

*gulps* You wouldn’t kill me? I’m you in another world, as you say.

Cro:

You’ll have to wait and see. Thanks Joseph for taking the time to talk with me and the whole wide world on the Internet. We’ll talk to you soon.

Joe:

*in background a woman calls out "leave your computer device alone and come to bed, I promise to make it worth your while"* Yeah I need to go anyway. You’re welcome, keep me around for a while okay? Being a vampire can be a lot of funs sometimes.

*Skype session closes*

Until next time I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

