Movie Review: This is 40

Details from IMDB:

40

This Is 40 (2012)

134 min  -  Comedy  -   21 December 2012 (Canada)

Ratings: 6.3/10 from 2,071 users   Metascore: 58/100
Reviews: 19 user | 76 critic | 37 from Metacritic.com

A look at the lives of Pete and Debbie a few years after the events of Knocked Up.

Director:

Judd Apatow

Writer:

Judd Apatow

Stars:

Paul Rudd, Leslie Mann and Maude Apatow | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

You guessed it, my wife wanted to see this one and as I had to work the next day, the Hobbit was on too late, so we went to this. Truthfully I do like Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann, so I did have some interest in this movie.

Main Points:

Apatow has done some really good, funny movie over the years. 40 Year Old Virgin, Pineapple Express and Get him to the Greek to name a few (all of these he produced rather than directed). This one is the sort-of sequel to Knocked Up.Open-mouthed smile

I really didn’t like Knocked Up, I found it went on way too long and I’ve never liked Katherine Heigl. She certainly has the movie star looks but has been in mostly terrible movies (and was too stupid to stick around Grey’s Anatomy with the only likable character she’s done) but I’m off topic.

So we see what Pete (Paul Rudd) and Debbie (Leslie Mann) are up to five years later. Both actors involved do a very good job here but I found that the movie just goes on too long. Comedies are meant to be short, I think, once you hit the two hour mark and beyond, well they just get dull and drawn out more times than not.Annoyed

Such is the case here. After seeing them argue and fight for a good 20 minutes of the movie I was bored. I will say one thing their lives are so pathetic, complicated and difficult (in my opinion) that it certainly made me feel good as someone approaching 40 Smile.

SPOILER ALERT!

Really not much to spoil, but just in case. So Debbie turns out to be pregnant at 40 with their 3rd child, while Pete has almost run his record company into the ground and they are being forced to sell their house just to try and make ends meet, but somehow they’re happy Thinking smile

Final Thoughts:

Another case of a movie that could have at least 20 minutes taken off of it. There are some very funny parts and a lot of believable and relatable (for married people at least) dialogue, attitudes and behaviours. Hot smile I would give this a mild recommendation and a 7/10 Thumbs up. If you can’t convince your significant other to see something else, well at least you can have a gander at Megan Fox (who is surprisingly good here) and the always funny (and quite lovely) Leslie Mann. Until next time (for my Christmas post, don’t worry it won’t be religious) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

