Movie Review: Wreck It Ralph

Details from IMDB:

 

Wreck-It Ralph (2012)

ralph

101 min  -  Animation | Adventure | Comedy  -   2 November 2012 (Canada)

Ratings: 8.2/10 from 20,614 users   Metascore: 73/100
Reviews: 112 user | 175 critic | 33 from Metacritic.com

A video game villain wants to be a hero and sets out to fulfill his dream, but his quest brings havoc to the whole arcade where he lives.

Director:

Rich Moore

Writers:

Rich Moore (story), Phil Johnston (story), and 3 more credits »

Stars:

John C. Reilly, Jack McBrayer and Jane Lynch | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

I know I’m way behind and this has been out over a month but believe it or not I only just saw it Smile. Obviously I had heard plenty of good things about it and the lines for The Hobbit were VERY long, so we decided to go (not that I won’t see the Hobbit later of course Open-mouthed smile).

Main Points:

Visually this movie was amazing, I would have liked to have seen it in 3D but they were used up for other movies. Ralph (voiced expertly by John C. Reilly) is a human version of Donkey Kong (Nintendo I’m sure wouldn’t allow him to be used) and a bad guy or villain in his game “Fix it Felix Jr.".

As usual I won’t go through the plot. This movie had lots of clever moments, some good laughs, a ton of video game references (was Turbo Time a real game?) and excellent voice work by everyone involved.Hot smile

There is also some commentary on the increasingly violent nature of video games and the idea that you are not defined by your nature but by the choices you make and how you choice to see yourself.

With all that said I guess maybe I’m not young enough (or have children) and there were some parts of the movie I found slow and predictable. Thinking smile

SPOILER ALERT!

Turbo is the real villain in the movie as he found a way from his game into Sugar Rush and is pretending to be the King. Ralph ultimately destroys him (we hope!) and is saved by Vanellope (voiced by Sarah Silverman).

Final Thoughts:

If this is still in theatres near you and you love video games (and a light-hearted movie) I would certainly recommend it. Thumbs up As I said I guess I’ve become a little cynical and jaded and I could only give this 7/10. Tomorrow, (assuming the world doesn’t actually end Winking smile) I’ll do a more serious post but hopefully not too serious. Have a great day everyone, until tomorrow I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

2 Comments

  1. I loved this movie. Great review 🙂

    • Hi Tasha 🙂

      Thanks! I try to give a review to both show what I thought of the movie and give people an idea if they should see it or not. I really liked this movie but just found it a little predicable, of course I’m a cynical bastard sometimes 😉


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

