My writing habits and 12/12/12 :)

Hi all Smile Like lots of people I couldn’t resist doing a post today. 12/12/12 I know that it doesn’t really mean anything to have a date with 3 numbers the same (other than we’ll never see it again in our lifetimes) but like most people I have a calendar (3 of them actually), a date planner and you notice certain dates (that and I saw it mentioned several times on Facebook and Twitter Thinking smile).

Someone said recently that they couldn’t wait for 12/22 as there will be all sorts of headlines with the wacky stuff people will do Hot smile (I don’t believe the world will end) but enough talk about dates. I thought I would share some info about my writing habits as I finished the second draft of my second novel (tentatively called “Killer on the Road”) this week. Look for it sometime in the new year (I’ll let you know when as soon as I can Open-mouthed smile).

 

My Writing Habits:

 

For me writing is a time to relax, to dream, to fantasize about mythical creatures and imagine how my life could have turned differently if I had made different choices. I know some people can write in public places with all sorts of noise and people around but for me I need quiet, solitude and something to look at. I also find that generally I am at my most creative in the morning. For me the best writing occurs when I’ve had a good night’s sleep, get up at 6 or 6:30 and start writing by 7 or 7:30 AM.

I also find that I need an outline. I like to have a clear idea of where I’m headed in a story so I always plan a novel at least two or three chapters ahead of time. Before I write I have a look at my outline (especially if I’m at the end of a chapter). Also at least once a month I look over the tips my esteemed editor, Pat, gave me from my first book (this was done during the writing of book 1 as well). I find that generally I only write in short bursts, 30-45 minutes tops then I’ll look out the window, possibly check my e-mail or pet one of my cats if they happen to be on the table with me. Generally I do most of my writing at home but since my wife gave me an iPad for my birthday a few months back I find myself using that to do a little writing if I’m at a book signing, a flea market, on a train, boat or plane.

With my first book published, I also find it useful to keep a copy of “The Newfoundland Vampire” nearby, it serves as both an inspiration and a guide as I work on book 2. For me I try to write about places that I’ve been (or wish I’d been) and either way I like to look at pictures of that place before I write the scene. As the main character, Joseph, is about 90% me, it is always a lot of fun to revisit these places in my mind and see how I would act differently in my imaginary world. For some scenes I try to imagine the whole thing in my head and then get it down on the screen as accurately as possible.

When it comes to personal preference, I find I enjoy writing the sex, action and humour scenes the most. A friend of mine gave me a tip to just set a simple goal, write one page a day every day. I found this very helpful as even one page, single spaced, means a chapter done in a week and of course some days I get inspired and do more Thumbs up.

The best scenes for me just fly out of my brain and I worry about cleaning up dialogue, punctuation and grammar at later time. While I’m certain writing could be taken a scientific approach for me its artistic expression and the best way I have to communicate my ideas and feelings to the world. Well that’s it for today, have a great day everyone. I hope you do something creative today and hey if you want to support a creative guy, you could always purchase my book, make’s a nice Christmas gift for your vampire loving friend/relative/roommate/husband/wife/spouse/self! Vampire bat

NewfoundlandVampire-coverFRONT700

Until next time I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

