Treason Blog Tour Part III: Interview with S.M. Boyce

Author Name: S. M. Boyce

clip_image002[6]
Book Title:
Lichgates (Grimoire Trilogy #1)


Tell us a bit about yourself.

I write fantasy and paranormal fiction novels because I can’t stop daydreaming. I’m also a sarcastic twit, but I still have friends because some people find me entertaining. I love to connect with readers and talk about life, so feel free to connect with me online or check out more about my writing on my blog.


Tell us a bit about the main characters.

Kara Magari grew up in our world, never knowing that another world—called Ourea—exists right alongside. But when she finds an old book while hiking along a hidden trail, she’s thrown into a life of magic, adventure, death, and danger. Though this parallel world is accessible by portals called lichgates, she can’t seem to find her way out.

Braeden Drakonin grew up in Ourea, and he’s hiding a deadly secret. If he’s discovered, he’ll be labeled a traitor and killed. All he wants is a peaceful life, but he won’t have it unless he can rid himself of an ancient curse that’s essentially trapped him in his own life. And when Kara shows up with the Grimoire—that ancient book she found—he realizes he might just have a way out after all.


Tell us a bit about the antagonist.

The thing with Ourea is you never really know who your enemy is. Kara faces a horde of antagonists from the truly vicious to those with good intentions and the wrong idea about her. She doesn’t have many allies…but she does have plenty of enemies.

What inspired you to write this book?

Years of daydreaming and asking “What if?” I draw inspiration from everything in my life, and the Grimoire Trilogy was a fleeting idea that snowballed into something truly epic.

Who would enjoy your book?

The coolest thing about the Grimoire Trilogy is that it crosses genres. Fans of high fantasy will enjoy its world building and complex plot; fans of urban fantasy will enjoy the dark undertones, especially in Treason (#2) and Heritage (#3); paranormal romance fans will enjoy the budding romance that begins in Lichgates (#1) and fully blooms in Heritage (#3). There’s adventure, action, and deeper themes that have meaning in our everyday lives. There’s a little for everyone to enjoy, and that’s what makes me proudest about my trilogy. I really put everything I had into it.


What surprised you most about the writing and publishing journey?

I knew it would be hard. I knew I would face challenges and be forced to both compromise and overcome. But what I didn’t expect is the sheer number of authors and readers and bloggers who support each other. Indiehood is rough, but the people make all the trouble well worth it. I love my new friends, and I get to meet more every day. It’s so awesome.


Before you go, share one random fact about yourself.

I have a love affair with Excel and planners. For a creative person, I sure plan a lot. My planner is color coded, and I have about ten different colored highlighters. Weird, right? I know.

 

About Boyce

Boyce is a fantasy and paranormal fiction author who likes sarcasm and cookies. You can find her books on Amazon and Barnes & Noble.

Boyce’s Books

Lichgates (Grimoire Trilogy #1)

Treason (Grimoire Trilogy #2)

 

Connect with Boyce

Website | Blog | Advice for Writers

Facebook | Twitter | Google + | Pinterest | Youtube

Goodreads Page | Amazon Page

clip_image001

clip_image002

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for participating!

    • You’re welcome 🙂 Have a happy New Year!

  2. […] – The Cro’s Nest – […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

