Movie Review: Lincoln

Details from IMDB:

Lincoln

 

Lincoln (2012)

150 min  -  Biography | Drama | History  -   16 November 2012 (Canada)

Ratings: 8.3/10 from 6,954 users   Metascore: 86/100
Reviews: 104 user | 108 critic | 41 from Metacritic.com

As the Civil War continues to rage, America’s president struggles with continuing carnage on the battlefield and as he fights with many inside his own cabinet on the decision to emancipate the slaves.

Director:

Steven Spielberg

Writers:

Tony Kushner (screenplay), Doris Kearns Goodwin (book) (in part)

Stars:

Daniel Day-Lewis, Sally Field and David Strathairn | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

Okay I’ll admit it, I tried to see Wreck-it Ralph but it was sold out for the third week straight, so we ended up seeing this. It was a happy accident though as I think Daniel Day-Lewis is excellent and I did plan on seeing this eventually Smile.

Main Points:

Lincoln lived at a very interesting (and tragic) time in American history. The civil war dragged on for over 4 years and almost 1 million dead. Lincoln himself was a fascinating figure, a giant of a man who was soft spoken, kind and a lawyer. Lewis portrays him expertly and Sally Field also done a fine job as his wife. Everyone in the movie turns in a good performance from Joseph-Gordon Levitt to James Spader to Tommy Lee Jones.

Steven Spielberg does another fine job directing and the 2.5 hours goes by without seeming too long (at least most of the time Thinking smile). There is some gore but it is needed to show the horror of war and there are some amusing moments.

SPOILER ALERT!

Just kidding Winking smile, obviously this is all historical fact. I’ll admit to not knowing if every detail here is correct so there were some things about the 13th amendment that I didn’t know (like how close it was to failure). Also I was unaware that there was talk of surrender by the South only to have it fall apart when Lincoln would not allow the Southern states to try and defeat slavery and the 13th amendment.

Final Thoughts:

An excellent movie that I thoroughly enjoyed. If you’re a fan of history or any of these actors, you will owe it to yourself to see this. A strong recommendation from me Thumbs up and an 8/10 Hot smile. Next will be another movie review of Seven Psychopaths. Until then I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

 

2 Comments

  1. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my site thus i came to “return the favor”.
    I’m attempting to find things to enhance my site!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

    • Hi there 🙂 Thanks for the comment and your visit. Sure if by ideas you just mean format, topics, that kind of stuff. Obviously if you’re copying my posts I need to be credited. I’ll be doing a new post soon (likely tonight) thanks again and best of luck with your blog =)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

