Movie Review: Scream 4

Details from IMDB:

Scream4

Scream 4 (2011)

111 min  -  Horror | Mystery | Thriller  -   15 April 2011 (Canada)

Ratings: 6.2/10 from 63,968 users   Metascore: 52/100
Reviews: 489 user | 381 critic | 32 from Metacritic.com

Ten years have passed, and Sidney Prescott, who has put herself back together thanks in part to her writing, is visited by the Ghostface Killer.

Director:

Wes Craven

Writer:

Kevin Williamson

Stars:

Neve Campbell, Courteney Cox and David Arquette | See full cast and crew

Initial Thoughts:

I’ve seen the other three Scream movies and I would call myself a fan. So I’ve had this PVR’ed for a while now and I finally gave it a watch the other night. What follows is more of a warning than a review.

Main Points:

I can’t resist any longer, this movie was really awful. I felt bad for the stars, like Campbell, Cox and Arquette, they really must not have anything else to do or perhaps just really need the money.

I was more impressed with the actors in smaller roles like Hayden Panettiere, Kristen Bell and Anna Paquin.

I suppose there are a few twists but really the first 20 minutes or so is almost unwatchable, after that it gets a little better, but not much.

There is all this hyper-realism, movie within a movie and discussions of horror movies here which I guess they did to try to be clever, all it really does though is convolute the movie and make it even more cheesy.Annoyed

SPOILER ALERT!

Yes there is a twist, the killer this time is a horror movie fan and is in league with Sidney’s first cousin. One of the only things I liked about the movie was when the last standing Ghostface makes a speech about how no one needs to accomplish anything anymore, just have something horrible happen to you and milk it on reality TV, sadly there is truth to this statement. Also the showdown in a hospital was an ok twist.

There is more gore in this film than the others and more of a body count, neither of which is a good thing either. Honestly I can’t recommend this movie unless you are a huge fan of one of the actors or really want to see how the series end (and dear God this should be the end!) Thumbs down. 5/10 from me, I’m sure there are better things out there to watch, like my next review Lincoln Vampire bat. Until then I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

