Halloween and what it means to me :)

Hi everyone Smile you knew I had to do a post today. So instead of listing my favourite scary movies or books I thought I would talk about Halloween in general and what it’s meant to me over the years.

First off here some pics from our Halloween party this year (not taken by me but by a friend, Lisa, I was busy drinking Winking smile)

And yes I know what you’re thinking, my beer costume looks like a dress.‘

The above picture is most of the people who came to our Halloween party this past Saturday night (3 people who also wore costumes left early and the other 3 were costume-less).

Now back to the thinking part, so for me obviously I haven’t been out trick-or-treating in a long time. I think I gave that up when I was 10 or 11, which is standard I think (at least for most people around here). Once I was old enough to go to bars then it was getting really drunk at Halloween parties in costume. At least one of those nights I drank WAY too much and had to be carried home. Fortunately there are no pictures of it to my knowledge Open-mouthed smile.

I like costumes and I think Halloween is one of the most fun holidays. Returning to our activities I’ve done hautned houses. The Haunted Hike many times (excellent if you live in or near St. John’s, I would highly recommend it). Also here in St. John’s is the Harbour Haunt (which now sadly takes place at a mall but what can you do?) that wasn’t as scary the last couple of times but still enjoyable (and the money goes to charity).

I like to be scared, I think most people do. My problem has always been with movies that go to much into the gore factor. For me I pick Paranormal Activity or Blair Witch Project (the original for both) over Saw or even Nightmare on Elm Street. (which are both good movie, just not quite my taste).

I’m sure you knew vampires and the plug was coming Vampire bat. Of course I love vampires and I have dressed up as one before (just last year in fact). This year I’ll be most likely taking my 2 year old niece out trick or treating and then waiting with candy to give out to those who darken our door. Before all of that though, for those who don’t know I own a black cat, Jude, and he thought my book, The Newfoundland Vampire, would make a purrrfect choice for Halloween (sorry couldn’t resist Hot smile)

003

Have Happy Halloween everyone and if you were affected by Hurricane Sandy, I hope things are getting better and you’re safe and dry Thinking smile. Until next time (and it probably will be a week or more this time) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

2 Comments

  1. Howdy, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was
    just curious if you get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do
    you stop it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any assistance is very much appreciated.

    • Hi there 🙂

      Thanks for the comment, spam doesn’t bother me much. I just have it set that I approve every comment and I can tell if its spam, those don’t get approved 🙂 new post coming soon BTW!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

