Book Review: Royal Flush

Details from Amazon:

Book Description

Publication Date: Dec 1 2011

Royal Flush asks the question, can a man who throws his dates in a dungeon succeed romantically? A recipient of the H. R. (Bill) Percy Prize, Royal Flush is a novel about a man known only as the King, and as his Kingdom careens toward catastrophe, he cruises seedy taverns looking for likely maidens. He is particularly bad at this. His incompetence and his weakness for beautiful women drag him deeper and deeper into trouble. He is portrayed as a cross dresser by the Kingdom Crier, the Kingdom’s most popular tabloid. Shortly after, he must defend his castle against a siege with only his royal fiddler–while attempting to steal his royal fiddler’s girlfriend.


Product Details

  • Paperback: 206 pages
  • Publisher: Mirth Publishing (Dec 1 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0981286704
  • ISBN-13: 978-0981286709
  • Product Dimensions: 21.6 x 14 x 1.2 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 281 g

Initial Thoughts:

Scott is a friend of mine that I met earlier this year at a local convention. He’s a nice guy, an environmentalist, an activist, a poker player and an author. If you get a chance you should check out his blog here and even follow him on Twitter, his tweets are often just as good or better than mine Winking smile. He’s given me lots of ideas and tips for selling my book and I wanted to thank him here publically. He bought my book, The Newfoundland Vampire, and of course I bought his and agreed to read and review it (this was in April). Because I’m as slow as the dickens I only just finished it yesterday. Now it’s his turn for now, though, my thoughts on his book.  Hot smile

Main points:

This a funny read that is a little slow to get going. I enjoyed parts 3 and 4 more than 1 and 2. Scott has written an unusual book where they main character is never described, often has no name and is rather despicable for at least half of the story. There are scenes that made me laugh out loud (and for someone who doesn’t read humour stories that’s saying something Open-mouthed smile), others where I admired a clever turn of a phrase or a comment on society (or on education).

There are some parts that reminded me of Monty Python and a nice reference to Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (look closely for this). There are some nice twists and turns and plenty of in-joke for those who look. Thinking smile

Final thoughts:

If you’re looking for a funny, entertaining read from a fellow Newfoundland author, I’d recommend Royal Flush and I give it 7/10. There are some things I didn’t like, a little bit of jumping around in the timeline, sometimes a glaring lack of description and immediate foreshadowing which I found a little annoying (hard to explain, you’ll just have to read it). As I said I’m just not a huge fan of humour novels, so that may have tempered my enjoyment slightly.If you live in Newfoundland (and near St. John’s) you should track down Scott to talk with an interesting and friendly guy 🙂 Until next time (and by that I mean the morning! Vampire bat) I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

2 Comments

  1. Thanks so much Charles, and of course I’m always willing to help! You’ve certainly given me some great tips as well.

    Like I said, love the review! Am now tweeting 🙂

    • Hi Scott 🙂 you’re welcome, I appreciate the help. I’m looking forward to some short stories from you and that long-abandoned other novel someday =)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

