Movie Review: Judge Dredd (2012)

Details from IMDB:

Dredd 3D Poster

 

Dredd 3D (2012)

95 min  -  Action | Sci-Fi  -   21 September 2012 (Canada)

Ratings: 7.7/10 from 16,403 users   Metascore: 59/100
Reviews: 193 user | 191 critic | 29 from Metacritic.com

In a violent, futuristic city where the police have the authority to act as judge, jury and executioner, a cop teams with a trainee to take down a gang that deals the reality-altering drug, SLO-MO.

Director:

Pete Travis

Writers:

Carlos Ezquerra (characters), Alex Garland (screenplay), and 1 more credit »

Stars:

Karl Urban, Olivia Thirlby and Lena Headey | See full cast and crew

Initial thoughts:

After several unsuccessful attempts to get my wife to go I finally convinced a friend of mine to see this (ok he wanted to see it and I tagged along Smile). I’ve never read the comics but I had heard good things about this movie and I was sure Karl Urban as Judge Dredd would do a better job than Stallone. Vampire bat

I just read a comment about this film being shown primarily in 3D and I tend to agree it is usually a rip off. A lot of movies just aren’t worth the extra money. I saw this one in 2D and thought it looked great, 3D wasn’t needed.

Main Points:

As always no plot summary. After about 5 minutes Dredd puts the helmet on and the action starts (and he doesn’t take it off, that’s the way Dredd rolls Hot smile). I loved how this was a straight forward action movie with some fun parts and good acting. (Lena Headey did a nice job as the psycho criminal Ma-Ma).

There is plenty of action here and while there were a few gory parts, I found most of the shots were quick and I was never grossed out long enough for it to bother me.

I know this movie is commenting on society and what we could come to with violence, gangs, criminals, cops and drugs but I never paid much attention to that. It was just fun to see Dredd and his partner Anderson (played by the talented up and coming Olivia Thirlby).

SPOILER ALERT!

Not much really but Ma-Ma does die in the end and despite her technically failing her test, Dredd does give Anderson a pass for what should have been another movie.

I would also have liked to have seen the whole mutant idea developed more. Anderson is a telepath and there is a comment that she “lucked out” because she didn’t have 3 arms. What caused the mutations? What can other mutants do? I guess I’ll have to read the comics to find out.Open-mouthed smile

Final Thoughts:

I would have seen a Dredd 2, I hope somehow it gets made. Another excellent comic book movie than I had a lot of fun watching. If you can find it near you and you don’t mind a little gore and lots of violence I would highly recommend this movie Thumbs up. I give it a 8/10. Next time will be my review of Argo (another really good movie). Until then I am as always…

SignatureB&W_0003

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

